On the road to Angkor!


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
February 17th 2010
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Our tuk-tuk driverOur tuk-tuk driverOur tuk-tuk driver

He even gave me his business card so I can let him know the next time I'll be in town and need a ride.
We got up at 7 for check-out and breakfast. I managed to snag a photo with our tuk-tuk driver of the past few days. He had one of the nicer tuk-tuks I'd seen. Then we were on the bus for the next 5 and a half hours. We had the front seats, 1 and 2, which means that we sat higher, so our legs didn't hang much, but rather flapped back and forth.

The bus stopped frequently to let Cambodians on and off. Those getting on all sat up in front with us on floor cushions. Julie said that one girl rested her head on Julie's arm for a while. Personal space is a luxury in this part of the world, as is privacy.

When we got off in Siem Reap we scanned the crowd of tuk-tuk drivers holding signs with names. We found the guy holding my name and followed him. I felt like a celebrity. Except that rather than a limo with full bar I was hopping into a trailer of sorts hitched up to a motorbike.

After checking in we rested and ate. Then we hired the tuk-tuk to take us to watch the sunset at Phnom Bakheng. With everyone else. We climbed up the hill, then up the steep stairs on the temple and found a spot and waited It wasn't as spectacular as I'd hoped. I think I spent most of the time dreading the climb back down the stairs with the crowds. It's more like scaling them than climbing them. Luckily, everyone else also wanted to go slow, so there were no problems.

Time to rest--tomorrow is a big day!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Sunset at BakhengSunset at Bakheng
Sunset at Bakheng

The crowd descends the stairs... slowly.


Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0181s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb