Angkor what???


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
February 7th 2010
Published: February 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post



After a nice breakfast at our hotel, charged to the room. We caught a tuktuk to Angkor wat this morning.

It is really even more spectacular than I imagined.. Its so big, and spread out. Today we visted two places, the main temple, angkor wat, and a temple that is at the top of a hill (that you have to walk up) called phnom bakheng.
I
Its just amazing to thing that this was all built almost a thousand years ago, without the help of modern machinery. We were exhausted just walking up the hill, I can't imagine doing it carrying a 1500 pound chunk of rock with me.

I took alot of photos today, so check out http://picasaweb.google.com/CaryBilcowski which i'm updating pretty much daily.

I think we're gonna try and make it an early night tonight so we can get to the bar for 6am to watch to superbowl live. I'm really excited, I wasn't really expecting to be able to see it. But now I can watch and cheer against morgans lame ass saints.

Siem reap as a town seems to be set up much better for us tourist types. There aren't quite as many mean looks and police officers spitting at me here. Though there still are a fair share of unfriendly characters, they dont scare me quite as badly as the phnom penh-ites did.

The touts are really annoying (as usual). These people follow you and despite bing told no several times, still came at you with shouts of "one dollar" as you rush to get away from them. I understand that its a poor country, but that is not the way to better yourself.

All in all, I've gotten a really strange vibe from cambodians, despite being right next door to the land of smiles, thailand, it is really a world away. Not that im having a bad time or anything, its just been very different.

Tonight we ate at a really fancy cambodian restaurant, We ordered a shared dinner that had some fresh spring rolls with peanut vinnigery tasty sauce, a delicious mango salad, green curry, fish amok, stir fried morning glorys, and spare ribs, all wrapped up in banana leaves on a wicker platter. Followed by some sort of banana coconut tapioca pudding thing that was also pretty great. With drinks (delicious fruit smoothies) and all came to 16 american dollars.... and that was a really fancy place. Breakfast couldnt have put us out more than 5 bucks. Madness i say.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb