Angkor Wat and Siem Reap


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
March 10th 2006
Published: March 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, we made it to Siem Reap after a very long boat ride up the Mekong River (7 hours). In was very interesting to see the countryside by boat. The poverty is much greater outside of Phnom Pehn. The river was lined with shanties and the water was filled with fishermen and women in their longboats. Children were so excited to see the boat go by. They would run to the waters edge to wave at us with lots of excitement! Our boat did get stuck for about 20 minutes. Not in mud (a bit of a relief) but in a fish net! I was exhausted and sun burned by the time we got to Siem Reap. We are staying in a very cute little guest house near the market and bars! For the past two days, Steph and I explored Angkor Wat. It was absolutely amazing as you can see by the pictures. The detail and grandeur in each of these temples is beyond imagination. Every one I enter, I feel inspired. Each one is unique and offers something to amaze me. My favorites by far were the Bayon (the one with the faces) and Ta Prohm (the one that has been taken over by the jungle). This morning we watched the sunrise over Angkor Wat. It was amazing as well. We could have gotten there a littler later in the morning though. The 430am wake up call was a little too much for me. But, as a result, I drank my first coffee and have been wired ever since! We have not planned anything for tomorow other then maybe taking some time to sleep in. I am sure we won't be able to sleep too long since it is so hot here. I can not believe how much water I drink during the day to recoup from all the sweating! C'est tout pour le moment! (Sorry- you'll have to wait for pics, the internet is to slow here).


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb