Angkor What?, er Wat


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
October 27th 2008
Published: October 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I spent three packed days at the temples of Angkor Wat and wish I had another day, very surprinsingly. I had heard it's eas to become "templed out", but I was very pleasantly surprised at the diversity and sheer numbers of temples.

My favorite temples were Angkor Wat (sheer size, it has the "it" factor), Ta Phrom ("tomb raider" temple, I felt like Indiana Jones!), and Banteay Kdei (still kept in it's original state and much quieter than the other temples).

Enough chat though, here are some photos!


Additional photos below
Photos: 76, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Porik dancing with some localsPorik dancing with some locals
Porik dancing with some locals

The band playing was one of a few bands throughout the temples comprised of Land Mine Victims. They play music instead of resorting to begging to make their living.
little temple next to Banteay Kdeilittle temple next to Banteay Kdei
little temple next to Banteay Kdei

I was curious to see it but obviously no one goes to it because I walked through cobwebs in the doorway and immediately bit it, slipping in the mud my first step in lol.
the dancing hallthe dancing hall
the dancing hall

One of these carvings on each temple, right at eye level
They had these in nearly every templeThey had these in nearly every temple
They had these in nearly every temple

I heard it was used for water, specifically holy water
cute little kids!! cute little kids!!
cute little kids!!

contrary to every other kid in all the temples, they didn't beg nor try to sell me something. I was happily surprised by their friendliness and simple curiosity.


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb