Only 4 more days!


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
September 21st 2008
Published: September 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Only 4 more days!

Ruth is now not coming for at least another 2 weeks cause she’s ill in Nepal so I wont even have anyone to talk to help on my last day. It also means that Anjali wont have anyone for a while but they have some sort of 9 day holiday coming up so the kids wont be there anyway.

I sort of did my space week, not entirely as planned but it was still good fun. We learned the order of the planets with prizes as an incentive and I even managed to do the paper Mache planets too. They took 3 days to dry though so they still haven’t been painted. We watched Tony’s DVD too and it was amazing to see their faces when the short film about anti gravity came on. Never has eating an orange been so funny! It took us a while to get the DVD working though cause the remote batteries had died, so we sent one of the kids off on a little adventure to find some more. He came back 20 minutes later with no batteries cause he didn’t have enough money so was promptly sent back and returned a further 20 minutes later victorious. Whilst we were all waiting patiently though, Tekea decided it would be fun to sit through 40 minutes of a Khmer Karaoke DVD. The kids enjoyed it but I can’t say I really understood what it was all about.

The letter F went ok this week. I got a few worksheets and played a few games and on one day the teacher wasn’t even there so I was a rebel and we did a lesson that didn’t involve the letter F one bit! The kids loved it because it was something different and at the end of the lesson they didn’t want to go! All I did was teach them the word favourite and then talked about what our favourite animals, colours and foods were. Then I gave them some paper and pencils and they drew one of them, not very difficult but a lot more fun than doing the same letter all week!

Sam, Karla, Tony and Tracy all left on Thursday and Sarah and Michelle left today so there are even less of us now. But it will be me on Thursday so it wont be for long. On Friday we had Sarah and Michelle’s last night celebrations and my pretend last night cause most people wont be able to go out on Wednesday cause of work and I don’t fancy having a hangover when travelling back. It was a brilliant night and I crawled in at 5am followed by the others at 9am. So yesterday was pretty much spent being lazy in our rooms till at least lunchtime but some of us headed in to town for some last minute shopping in the afternoon then randomly decided to go and see the sunset at the temples in the evening. It’s free to go after half 5 so we only had to pay for the tuk tuk there and back. The only annoying thing was that we spent so long taking silly photos of each other outside the temple that we missed the best part of the sunset. We still got some very cool photos though so all was not lost!

I’ve decided that I’m gonna send everyone’s main postcards that I wrote 6 weeks ago when I get home cause most people have been saying that theirs haven’t got through. I am gonna try and send a few from here though just so that if they do get through then some people will have something with a Cambodian stamp on it at least.

Just incase I don’t get to write another blog before I leave, I will see you all in 5 days and I take it from dad’s message that he’s meeting me at the airport.
See you soon..

K8.
X x x


Advertisement



21st September 2008

reply
Dear K8,Have enjoyed all your letters,what a wonderful experience, and you have more to come when you visit Ghania.Looking forward to seeing you and all your Photo`s. Love From Grandma and Grandad.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb