Only 2 weeks left... :(


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
September 14th 2008
Published: September 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Another week gone and only two to go. My time here really has flown by and although I don’t want to leave I’m kinda looking forward to not sweating all day!
Anita and Clinton’s last day was on Friday and I’m now going to be on my own at Anjali until my last day when Ruth arrives. I don’t mind being on my own but it would be nice to have someone to talk to who can actually understand me most of the time. I already have most of my workshops planned though so it’s not like I’m gonna be wandering around not really knowing what to do. I’m finally going to do my space week that I planned over 3 weeks ago but just never got around to doing. Tony at New Hope said that when he talked about space to his kids, none of them even knew that man had landed on the moon yet and then asked how much it would cost for them to go. So he put together a DVD of the moon landing and other space bits which I’m gonna steel from him to show the kids at Anjali.
It was a pretty chilled week this week and most of the workshops were nice and quiet for a change. We did quite a bit of skipping outside in the mornings before it got too hot. The older ones were really good and I tried to teach them some of the skipping rhymes but it really didn’t work so we just stuck to counting! We finally managed to play ‘Duck Duck Goose’ too, they loved it and were playing for nearly an hour. We must play Sleeping lions again though this week.
I’m also teaching one Intermediate lesson a day now and we are doing the letter F this week. All week! I will find a way of making it more fun though if it kills me.
I also visited Sala Tesa project which was awesome. I spent most of the afternoon in Sam’s lessons annoying him which was fun and I read a book to some of the younger ones. It’s more basic than Anjali but their level of English was much better. They all go to a Western school whereas our kids go to a Khmer school and you can really see the difference. There was one girl there called Leak who I swear was crazy but so awesome. She’s amazing at painting too and she said she’s gonna paint me a picture of an elephant to take back to England with me.
It’s been a pretty relaxed weekend as well, just hanging about and watching some DVDs with everyone. Going for breakfast in a bit and to do some shopping so not much to report this week. I thought I should write something though before mum calls the Cambodian Police telling them I’ve gone missing or something!
See you in 2 weeks!
K8


Advertisement



15th September 2008

Time flies
Hi Kate Can`t believe it`s less than two weeks before you are back at Heathrow. The time has gone so quickly. Glad to see you are still having a great time and good to see also that you are looking forward to coming home, even if it is only for the cool weather. We are actually having reasonable weather at the moment. Mind you it`s been awful right through the summer. Been back to work a couple of weeks now and the kids are still challenging as always. Wish I could transport some of them over to you to see the conditions some of yours have to put up with. Footie season is underway again and Joe and I have seen a couple of dreadful games at Withdean already. Nothing changes. They are playing okay away from home at least. Joe saw the first game of the season up in Crewe. He went up on the supporters coach with Peter. Albion are playing Manchester City in the Carling Cup at Withdean on the night of Joes birthday. Man City have just been bought by an Arab businessman and now have more money than Man Utd and Chelsea. Great fun having them at Withdean. They will see how the other half live football wise. Can`t remember if I told you that I helped Tom and Welshie move to their new flat in South London. Really nice place but very expensive. Joe looking all grown up in his year eleven sweat shirt. Think he might have grown too since you left. By the time you get back he wont be bald anymore either. A silly moment with Peter and a pair of electric clippers. Will leave Joes birthday present from you until you get back. He`s happy about that. Make the most of the last couple of weeks Kate. Lots of love dad xx

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb