Siem Reap Massage ~ Massage for a Good Cause


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
January 5th 2008
Published: January 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I’ve promised Mr Nou Savuth that I would be featuring his massage parlour in one of my entries for Siem Reap.



For this was no ordinary massage parlour....

By modern standards, the decor is relatively run down compared to the many "normal" massage parlours in the vicinity. The enclosure is dimly litted with no ambience lighting nor air-conditioning to speak of. What makes this place, the Siem Reap Massage stands out is that it is run by a group of visually impaired personnel who are well trained in both foot and body massages. Even though they have difficulties with their sight, they are determined to earn their own keep with their bare hands.

I had the opportunity to try both the foot and full body massage costing US$5 for a one hour session. The body massage was so comfortable that I fell asleep during the routine. That evening while waiting for H, I decided to sit down and chat with Mr Nou. Mr Nou's himself has perfect vision. It was his dedication in helping the visually impaired that surprised me.

He is kind enough to source this space for them costing US$300 a month. All proceeds from the earnings goes direct to the massagers and the money is used to pay for the rental of the space. Normally, Mr Nou would be sitting outside the massage parlour to invite customers. He does not get a cent out of it as he have other sources of income.

"There are currently no system of social support for this group of people from any Non-Governmental Organisations in Cambodia. The visually impaired are left to fend for themselves."

My best guess could be, if nobody comes forward to organise and find a shelter for them, the visually impaired could well be roaming in the streets.

While US$5 is considered peanuts for most of us, it certainly meant a lot to them. Yes, I could definitely feel it from their genuine & grateful smiles when I handed the money personally on their hands. It felt good to be able to make someone's day through a tiny contribution on our part.

Siem Reap Massage is definitely worth checking out!




Practical Information:

Siem Reap Massage
Address: #Sivatha Road, near Monorom Restaurant (Downtown Siem Reap)
Opening Hours: 12pm - 12am

Contact Person: Mr Nou Savuth
Contact Number:
092 98 66 01 / 092 887 423


Afterwords:

Subject: Greetings and I've featured your massage parlor on the internet‏


Hi Mr Nou,

Hope you are getting on fine. I was one of the customers who came to Siem Reap for the massage by the visually impaired.

I've since gotten back to Singapore and I've written an entry about your place in my blog with the hope of getting more customers for you.

Feel free to visit my blog @ http://www.travelblog.org/Bloggers/Budokan/

Wish you and everybody in good health always.


Kind regards,
Budokan (Singapore)









Advertisement



27th January 2008

Hi, I just went through your message. It is very touching. Being a cambodian, i am very much grateful for this humanitarian action during your trip to Siem Reap. Hope the rest will follow. Nataro,

Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.2479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb