dirtbiking through the backdoor of Cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
April 7th 2007
Published: April 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

villagevillagevillage

northwestern Cambodia
After quite reluctantly tearing myself away of an unexpectedly pleasant and long stop in Nong Khai, I was pretty annoyed to be turned away from yet another border. This time the Cambodia one.

But never fear, rather than running back to Chiang Mai in defeat, I headed a few kilometers north, checked into a hotel and collected myself. The next morning I made for the rarely-used Chong Jom/O'Smach crossing. Much to my surprise, I was nearly ushered into Cambodia.

I should have known it was too good to be true. About 30 seconds down the road (that seemed I should now be driving on the right side of), it appeared to abruptly end. Welcome to the dirt roads of Cambodia! I mean, I had heard the roads were bad, but this tested my novice biking skills to their limit.

The next four hours were a hot, slow, dusty slog over hard-pan, washboard, sand and the 0.25 km tease of potholed pavement in the one 'town.' I passed numerous dusty, yet oddly quaint villages, not actually knowing where the heck I was, but encouraged as the sun appeared to be on my right, to the west, indicating that
red dirt roadred dirt roadred dirt road

northwestern Cambodia
I was heading south and bound to hit the road to Siem Reap...eventually.

I was halfway through tossing back some curry and rice at a roadside shack when I realized that I had no local currency and only one $20 American bill (the other Cambodian currency). I left the poor woman who fed me terribly disappointed with a handful of Thai baht.

A couple of hours into the ride, I was feeling very lost. I had effectively no money, no map, less than 1/2 a litre of water, was getting low on fuel and having no success communicating with the locals. Traffic (and therefore dust) did appear to be increasing, which I took as a good sign.

It was past four in the afternoon when I rolled across another stretch of broken pavement and spotted a fuel station with real fuel pumps. I had seen plenty of fuel along the way, but all of it in old Coke, booze or pop bottles in little roadside stalls. Hmmm, I thought, these people might be able to break a twenty or take some baht. Indeed, I was in luck! They took baht and gave me change in local riel.
ah, sweet pavement!ah, sweet pavement!ah, sweet pavement!

highway 6 west of Siem Reap
Not only did I now have 5 litres of fuel, but money for water!

Better than that, just around the corner was the first significant intersection I had come across. It was lined with vendors selling drinks, food, clothes, trinkets and the usual market goods. I pulled over and pointed east, "Siem Reap?" I called to a lady on the corner. Nods and smiles, "Yes, yes! Siem Reap! Siem Reap!"

I pulled away, turned left and giggled to myself that I was actually going to get out of this one. The laughter did not last long as I absorbed that the quality of the road I was travelling on was sort of better, but much more varied, potholded, paved/unpaved, often under construction and with a brisk, aggressive load of motorbike, truck, bus and car traffic in both directions. Woah!

It took all of my concentration to get through the next couple of hours. A decent stretch of pavement eventually emerged a few kilometers out of Siem Reap, just as the five o'clock rush hour river of motorbikes and cyclists were pouring out. I rolled to a stop in the middle of town, covered head-to-foot with red dust, exhausted.

Advertisement



11th April 2007

Best adventure yet!!
I love this story...it's your best one yet! Glad to hear that you survived. Happy travels!
11th April 2007

backdoor of cambodia
OMG Girl! At this time of the your trip we would be booking a flight back home! You are one brave travelling mango! Take CARE Laura
17th April 2007

Glad to hear you're rocking the Far East
Your bike is way cooler than J-Rawk's. And good on you for taking on "the unknown" like this. Sounds like a blast.

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb