End of Cambodian tour


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
November 13th 2006
Published: November 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Check this out!Check this out!Check this out!

I never thought I would get a chance to do something like this!
I'm back! There was just so much adventure today, and so much fun, that I ran out of room in the last entry. So, here I am again, with a short note, but more pictures that depict the day.

I must say that we are all trying different things, from boat rides, to elephant rides, to ox carts, food, and so on. My heart was in my throat when I climbed on that elephant, but.......I know how to control my self-talk and I also asked for the oldest and slowest elephant (ha ha!)!!!! Didn't want one of those young perky things! Same thing for the oxen. Give me the oldest and most tired critter, please and thanks!!!!

So, sit back and relax. Here are more photos.

Happy Pat (and a bit sun-burned now too!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

The Art SchoolThe Art School
The Art School

Here's an apprentice working on a sculpture. I have a new appreciation for this type of art!
The ox cart tourThe ox cart tour
The ox cart tour

Here's Gail settling in for a ride!
Their bedroom for a family of 4Their bedroom for a family of 4
Their bedroom for a family of 4

Humble homes, gracious people!
Our roomOur room
Our room

Our beds are hard, the pillows are hard........but who are we to complain?????
Karoake and coffee barKaroake and coffee bar
Karoake and coffee bar

Here's where they go for fun!
Travelling salesmenTravelling salesmen
Travelling salesmen

People actually live in these, and travel and sell things
The Yellow TeamThe Yellow Team
The Yellow Team

These are some of the people in our group!
Women and children in boatWomen and children in boat
Women and children in boat

This woman and her children worked so hard to make a dollar.......we bought a beer and coke!
Women and children in boatWomen and children in boat
Women and children in boat

This woman and her children worked so hard to make a dollar.......we bought a beer and coke!
The floating villageThe floating village
The floating village

So many people, so little space....so much water!
View from my hotel roomView from my hotel room
View from my hotel room

This hotel is superb!
Anyone need a church?Anyone need a church?
Anyone need a church?

You can pray anywhere!
Our dinner gangOur dinner gang
Our dinner gang

Remo and his harem! We had a blast at dinner tonight around the pool.
Evening entertainment around poolEvening entertainment around pool
Evening entertainment around pool

This night was like a fairy tale.....so special!
Kevin getting in one last danceKevin getting in one last dance
Kevin getting in one last dance

So much fun, such great music.....Kevin had to get in one last dance in the hotel lobby! The staff were amused!
Oh, what a ride!Oh, what a ride!
Oh, what a ride!

Our tour guide arranged for some of us to tour his little village, and then we were invited into their homes. Very humbling experience!


15th November 2006

To Tina
I've missed hearing about your adventures for a couple of days. So glad to get the pictures today and the interesting journals that go with them. Is that elephant easier to ride than your bike? Just so you know, Lindsay has taken over the lead in the football pool (I knew you'd be happy about that!) Glad you're having such a great time. We miss you and will be glad to have you back home. Luv Marilynn
15th November 2006

All is well on Duchess
Hi Pat, great blog! I start my workday by checking out your new adventures. You are making the most of this trip! All is well on Duchess, we've been checking on your house, and everything is just fine. Enjoy your adventure!

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0981s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb