Temple Heaven


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
October 29th 2005
Published: October 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Angkor Wat at sunriseAngkor Wat at sunriseAngkor Wat at sunrise

Wow!! Such a beautiful sight!
Hey all. Thanks so much for all of your wonderful replies, it's great to hear from you and I really love reading the funny little messages you leave. They make me smile!!
Well, it's Saturday the 29th October and unfortunately, my last day in the wonderful Siem Reap (Cambodia). It's quite bizarre, because when I first got here I didn't like it at all and wanted to get straight back in the taxi and leave but as the time has gone by, I've really grown to like it.
It's a massive culture shock being here and it really makes you sit up and take note of the things we take for granted every single day of the week. The nation is really poor as a whole and people will sell you just about anything to try and make a little bit of money. It's really sad to see the poverty all around and all I want to do is just scoop up the little kids and bring them home with me. (Maybe I'll do an Angelina Jolie and adopt!) It's also amazing how, for such a poor country, the people are constantly happy and pleased to see you. I've been past so many families sitting at the side of the road with nothing but a crate to sit on and some water to drink and they look up, smile at me and wave for no reason and it melts my heart. Why can't the people of London be like that??
Getting to and from the temples each day is like dicing with death because of the way that the people drive on the roads. It's hilarious to watch and you really have to see it to believe it but lets just say that the people of Cambodia don't believe in stop signs or giving way and when you get to a cross roads then god help you!! Size doesn't matter here and éven jeeps and lorries don't get priority over tuk-tuks or bikes which is quite nice to see. The other thing that astounds me is the LACK of road-rage....no one gets worked up, they just bib their horn (without using the V sign or pulling a face) and move on.
So far, I've seen pretty much all of the temples in the area with the exception of one or two of the smaller ones. I got up at 4am on
The climb up to Phnom Bakeng for SunsetThe climb up to Phnom Bakeng for SunsetThe climb up to Phnom Bakeng for Sunset

Now you see why you need good shoes and knees!!
the first day to see the sunrise over Angkor Wat which although was pretty knackering, was absolutely beautiful and awe inspiring and like nothing I've ever seen before. The actual temple is massive (it takes around 3 hours to see) and fortunately is one of the most intact. Lots of the others are falling apart which is such a shame because you can't really appreciate the true beauty of them. Still, it's all wonderful and definitely worth the visit if you can get here one day. i should give you a couple of tips though and these are to bring good shoes for all of the hilly climbs and rock jumping, take lots of cod liver oil before you get here because your knees need to be in good working order and whatever you do, bring a high impact sports bra for the trips between the temples. Jesus, I've had black eyes each day'!!
I'm moving on to Phuket tomorrow so I'll add another entry in a few days or so. In the meantime have a look at some of the photos above and tell me that you're not tempted to come out here!! See you all soon. Love and
Banteay Kdei RuinsBanteay Kdei RuinsBanteay Kdei Ruins

This one was my favourite temple. Check out the dodgy travel clothes!
miss you lots. N xxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



30th October 2005

dark nights as the clocks go back
hi sweetie so good to speak to you on the phone the other day. it must be so much fun as you start the third leg of your fantastic journey. while your soaking up the sun and the sights over there we are turning back clocks in readiness for the cold dark nights - although have to say the weather has been really good to us at the moment.have just returned from seeing the new baby (carla) and little alba . they are such sweeties and alba is such a little character- she seems to have taken a shine to me as ive been smothered in kisses and hugs today.however dad has been christened by the baby after her last feed, serves him right for taking her away from me, we were having such a nice cuddle!!!!!! nan sends her love , she hasnt got your text yet! she says take care keep alert and she loves u loads.by the way the pictures are fantastic and have sold me on coming to thailand some time in the future.dad did a test run cycle to his new job this morning - an impressive 35 mins - not bad for an odly ( i think i mean oldy - no maybe odly was right first time!!!!!!!!)anyway hes a bit of a mover so to speak.maybe ill send u out a new sports bra for xmas before u do yourself a mischief.have a great time sunning on the beaches and boogeing in the clubs lots of love huggles and kisses ,thinking of you every day love mum and dad xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
31st October 2005

Hi!
Hi Naomi it's Nikki. Just thought i'd add a quick comment to say that we miss you! I am more than impressed that you included Chico Cuddles and Bob on one of your pictuers. Remember what I said, just make sure you take a picture of Bob checking in next time you fly. Bob looks like the more sensible one! Have a great time, look after yourself and we shall see you when you get back!! Byeeeee!
31st October 2005

hope u and chuckles are enjoying yourselves. it seems you are and everything looks beautiful out there. reading your journal has cheered us up as it is pouring buckets here today.love u lots ,take care, see u soon.love nanxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
31st October 2005

It's official..........
......she is a proper traveller. I never thought I'd see the day you wear Jesus creeper sandals!! It looks and sounds like you are having the time of your life. We are very happy for you and also growing more jealous by the day. The photos are fab......and actually very well taken. Did you have lessons from David Bailey? Not much has been happening here. You are going to miss J's BD bash. It's only a small do, I think she has kept it down to 1332 people! We are missing you and your potty mouth (only joking Mum and Dad da Silva). Can't wait to read your next entry, it's the only bit of excitment in my working day!!!(Apart from Barney). All my love, Becks xxx
31st October 2005

that elusive monkey...
...hey pictures are ace and yep we'd all love to be there. Especially as you appear to be waring shorts and Tshirt while we're under umbrellas everyday! Hallowean tonight...will wait and see if any oiks come to the door dressed in sheets and holding torches. They'll only get oranges from me. Are you affected by people in the midst of ramadam? Hope you get to experience the parties and feasts of eid. You haven't mentioned food - yet....is i t all yum or more grasshoppers and bugs? Well deary see you soon xx ps where is Chico?
31st October 2005

remedy for nblack eyes cucumber ........
or don't be so active and use lots of bandages! Hi names, this is probably not going to work cos just as I thought I had got this thing sussed it wouldn't let me print anything after the title so I guess I did something wrong and had to start again, I'm obviously still in the learning curve thing. It wa\s lovely to hear from yhou and to see all the amazing photos and yes I would very much like to be there with you who wouldn't! I know what you mean about scooping up all the little kids and taking them home, how can they be so happy when they have nothing, your comments remind me of the ugandan children, all they want is for you to smile back and wave at them. Yes it does break your heart, but it also made me think that I wouldn't replace my friends for all the money in the world cos they're worth more. Right enough of this deep thought milarky onto more light matters. For example, I bet you now have a tan to die for, figuratively speaking of course, and are meeting lots of interesting and wonderful people B is obviously up for a man contest so I'll be interested to nsee the top five, any older ones by the way, I wouldn't want to be accused of cradle snatching! Did you know (Iexpect you do) but anka wat is the largest manmade temple on earth and you can see it from space and the whole thing is based on numbers! How cool is that. JUst a useless piece of information that I seem to store in the brain cells instead of more important stuff! I hope the cuddlies are using lots of sun tan lotion on their extremities ie ears so they don't burn! Actually I didn't have a clue who you were talking about and I was actually looking for people in the photo. Silly me! Well it's now another chapter in your travelblog and no doubt it is now time for a little bit of you time, lazing in the sun, listening to sound of the waves on the shore, drinking a long cool drink of something or other, chitchatting over a lunch of garlic prawns, and then forcing yourself to go out on the town until the early hours and having to do the same thing all over again! No I don't really envy you atall, I can just sit here watching the rain pour down all day, listening to the wind blowing all the leaves off the trees, turning the clock back so we're pitched into early evening gloom and sitting huddled in front of a radiator, why the hell would I want to be over there! Make the most of it my lovely, you've worked hard for it so enjoy it! Lookn forward to seeing some more fab photos, that is assuming I can pick them up, we'll see how good teacher your mum is! Take lots and lots and lots of care (here I go again) enjoy yourself, give the cuddlies a hug from me, and of course one for you too, love you loads lesley xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Misty sends her paw prints too!
1st November 2005

get me a plane to cambodia - now!!!!
Hello chicken, don't know what has been going on with the emails at work but if this is the only way we can communicate, then so be it! Wowee the photos look amazing. I'm pleased that you are having a better time now mrs independent. i am still missing you loads but I bet you dont want your adventure to end! I so wish I could just book a flight to meet you but short of selling my body I doubt that is likely and mum and dad would not be very impressed! Love you lots mopear xxxxxx Biancaxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb