Siem Reap - Day 2 was more like the grim reaper


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
February 4th 2008
Published: February 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Before I start this entry I have to point out I'm really behind in my writing that it's been over a week since I was in Cambodia (I'm sitting in Phuket, Thailand now).

Day two of touring the temples. Let's just say that there are a lot of temples to see here. I also have to say that after awhile they all start to look the same or at least it feels that way when it's 100 degrees outside and you feel like melting at any moment. The good thing about this portion of the trip - we are staying in one hotel so we are able to sleep in a bit (no early morning packing ... yeah!). I decide to eat lite today since it's so hot and only have some fruit and juice. It's at this moment that I realize that something is wrong ... Houston we have a problem. I can't put my finger on it but I feel off. I tell our guide Sna before we head off on our bikes that I'm feeling a little strange - how much riding is on the schedule for today - approximately 80 km. I'll have to think about this. I am plugging away (or should I say peddling) when I start to fantasize about getting sick on the side of the road ... yes, that actually sounded good to me at that time. But I wasn't going to stop - it was just Margaret and I at the end and we had made a pack - no rider left behind. When we got to our 27km break - I had to call it quits. Little did I know that that would be the last time I would ride a bike in Cambodia. I got the illness. Let me tell you people IT IS NOT FUN. I couldn't even tour the temples by car - I had to tour the bathrooms. Memorable. Needless to say the rest of my time in Siem Reap was not that great. I did have dinner in my room that night - didn't eat it all but some animal ate what I put outside of my room - licked the plate clean.

Oh yeah - the common question that everyone is asking me ... what did you eat? I had a steak. I haven't had one since then.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb