Cambodia - Angkor Temples


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
January 30th 2008
Published: January 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am so excited for today's activities. I have been looking forward to seeing the temples of Angkor Wat for sometime (ok - maybe it was Lara Croft that really peaked my interest ... that's just so sad to admit) and today is the day. In addition to our bike guide, Sna, we also have a temple guide. I can't remember his name because it's not easy to say. We leave the hotel and head over to the temples by bike. It's about a 25km ride there and our first stop is to the office to get our 3 day photo pass. It's very official here. Once in the grounds, we start riding towards the temples. I'm having a difficult time riding because I am just looking everywhere and trying to take everything in. We are passing smaller temples that are beautiful and the grounds are just gorgeous with vegetation. Our first temple is Banteay Kdei. Like most of the temples, it was built in the 11th century. We then headed to Ta Prom and Chau Say Thevoda. I forget which one it is but one of them is where Angelina Jolie filmed the Lara Croft movie. Needless to say, that temple was packed with tourists. Each temple is unique in its own way and it was interesting to learn how they were used back them. We then had lunch at the Angkor Cafe which is next to Angkor Wat. I would recommend this restaurant because they have really good ice cream. I like strawberry but everyone else recommends the coconut.
Angkor Wat. It's huge. Breathtaking. Inspiring. I wish I could have seen it when it was first completed. The craftmanship is unbelievable. I wish I could describe everything but I just don't have the words. I hope that my pictures can capture some of its beauty. The Italians leave early and I understand. Our temple guide was helpful but difficult to understand, so they really weren't learning anything on the tour. After Angkor Wat, they decided to head back to the hotel. Tara and I decide to stay and go to Bayon to watch the sun set. Bayon is on top of a hill so it was a bit of a hike to get up there - especially after riding all day and being in the sun. The steps to the top of the temple are difficult as well - extremely steep and narrow. The sunset is nice but not traditional - because of all the clouds / smog (??) the sun set in the clouds. But still very pretty. There was probably about 300 people viewing the sunset and then they all started clapping. Smile.


Advertisement



1st February 2008

do u have pictures with cows and monks
in orange in the background yet? how it hasn't become too commercialized! they discovered a new temple in early 2000 that may be 3 centuries earlier than angkor wat.. if i recall correctly.

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb