Siem Reap Temples/Angkor Wat 14/11/07


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
November 18th 2007
Published: November 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me and a TreeMe and a TreeMe and a Tree

Trees Growing from the Temple ruins
Wet to see the temples at Angkor Wat today which i can only describe as amazing.
I found it hard to beleive the sheer size of the places that were built by hand.
The stone carvings and designs were amazing, as was the moat which surrounded the Main temple of Angkor wat which was dug out by hand.
Almost fell out with an Eastern European guy, think he was maybe Polish or Czech going by his accent but he started shouting at me as i was standing looking down from the top of one of the temples, as i was in one of his fotos, I politely told him to piss off and trotted off down the steps only to be told by a Canadian gent that he would have used a less diplomatic approach if he had been talked to like that.
Went and had something to eat at the various little food stalls and tents that surround the temples and was set upon by a gang of young girls maybe 6years old at the most. To say I was mildly badgered into buying something was putting it lightly, I eventually gave in and bought a scarf after one of
Tree Roots and meTree Roots and meTree Roots and me

Me and Some more trees roots
them struck a deal with me that i would buy one if she could name the capitol city of my Home country, I told her I was from Scotland and the told me that the capitol city was "Edinburger", I was too busy laughing after that to care about getting my money taken off me for a scarf i didn't want.
After the temples it was back to town for a shower then out to get something to eat and get ready for my boa trip to Phnom Penh the next day!!

Advertisement



18th November 2007

Wrong Boat, Hotel Suit!
Fantastic, Glad you're having a wicked time. Wrong boat... ha ha ha ha! In Phom Phen , check out the Apocalypse Now club/bar, and if you get a chance, Sparks (the massive disco for the Cambodians) is pretty weird. Hope you've booked some time in Sihanoukville too. If you get there, see if Dr Jones at the Golden Barracuda is still about, say hi to him for me.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb