Its the final countdown.....


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
July 22nd 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dearest blog,

This is perhaps my last entry to you, unless I run out of money or energy or both. Can not believe it is my last day, and to make matters worse...I have got bad guts. It is not quite as bad as my trip from peru, I have not had to resort to the immodium just yet, but what bloody shit timing (scuse the pun). But I have been so lucky that I haven't been ill up until now, on the guts front that is.

Anyway, I'm going to just get down to business (sorry).

My next stop in Cambodia was Siem Reap, a lovely little town on the edge of Ankor Wat. Its quite chilled out and colonial, with a really good market and nice coffee shops. Spent the day mooching around, was accosted by 3 teenage girls whilst sitting on a park bench minding my own business. They wanted me to take a photo on my camera of them and me!!! Needless to say, I erased them afterwards. I know what a bitch. In the evening I watched the famous Asparta dancers in a small pub which I thought was very cultural of me.

The next day, I was up at 4.30am to meet my tuk tuk driver for a day of full on sight seeing. I had my sturdy shoes on as I knew I would need them, and after 12 hours seeing the sights, being awed and inspred and amazed at each new wat that I went to, I was bloody knackered. I saved Ankor Wat til last, and I st didnt want to leave, it was so incredible. Most memorable points were the bas relief wall murials 2 meters high and running the lengh of the whole compound, the workmanship defied belief. The hazardously steep staircases to the very top during which I had flashbacks to Franz Josef Glacier, and seiing a monkey being mauled by 3 dogs. But it got away thank god, otherwise I would have been scarred for life, animal loving loser that I am.

Just lost a load of text....so having to redo now. Arse.

Anyway, the next day, I made my way to Thailand. Haven't got time to re explain the horror of that journey- you've had a lucky escape.

But now I have to end it there for the time being, I have to go and get my plane. I dont want to go home, its not fair!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I suppose getting to the end of my trip I should say something profound like I have changed so much, or it has expanded my mind or something like that, but I honestly dont think I have changed a bit. What I do know is that I have had the most amazing time, and have loved every single second of it, even when I ran over a kangeroo, or had sinusitis or when I was a bit homesick at the beginning.

And I can honestly say, in case you were wondering, that this isn't the last of my travelling, the feet are still itching, and I am definately not ready to settle down!!!!!! in fact if the full moon party was anything to go by, its party on!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Foggx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.1095s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb