The Wonders of Angkor


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
July 2nd 2007
Published: July 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

It's been 2 weeks since I wrote my last entry so I'm going to try and catch up. First I must mention the Full Moon Party which was manic, absolutely mental. Thousands of people partying until the sun came up, an amazing sight, especially from the balconies of some of the bars, from where you could just see a sea of people moving to the various beats down the beach - and then the actual sea beyond them. Amazing.

But since then I have passed through Cambodia, some of which I will be writing about now - my visit to Siam Reap and the Angkor Temples. I've never seen anything quite like these, simply stunning. I marvelled at the grandeur, the sheer size, the detail and the intimacy of these monumental stone temples. My favourite temple, Bayon, stretched upwards and outwards in all directions, with these huge faces carved into every surface. Angkor Wat amazed with size - the largest and possibly the finest religious structure in the world. Ta Phrom was charming as it entwined with nature - trees growing in, through and around the crumbling stone (it was also used in a Lara Croft Tomb Raider Film!) Preah Kahn was similarly stunning, although it was less a part of nature and better preserved than Ta Prohm. All in all it's magnificent place, where you can find intricate carvings on every wall and unexpected turns in some of the labyrinths. Stunning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb