Bamboo Bridge.. see it before its replaced


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » East » Kampong Cham
March 27th 2014
Published: March 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It was at home on my laptop that I first read about the Bamboo Bridge in Kampong Cham, Cambodia. The structure of it caught my eye and then upon reading more of the history of it, I decided then & there that I was going to see it for myself.

The day I actually rode my bicycle across it was indeed an accomplished feeling as I smiled for 800 meters, which is the length of the bridge!

The bamboo bridge connects the small yet populated island Of Koh Paen in the Mekong River to Kampong Cham, mainland Cambodia. The Island is home to 25 000 people and is a colourful mix of Cham & Khmer culture. The fascinating aspect is this bridge is constructed every year by hand in November (which is the dry season), then is destroyed during the wet season by rising waters(usually around June). The island people then have to rely on boats for transport to and from the island.

The bridge is made completely of bamboo and has a sort of like matchstick effect. Maintenance is a common occurrence so it was no surprise that there was toll at the island end of the bridge. I am sure us visitors are asked to pay more but who cares, its a small change fare to experience something that's , unique and completely an accidental tourist attraction. One in which has a limited life span as a concrete bridge is already planned to replace it!

Once you are on the island there are numerous paths to follow whether you have crossed by foot, bicycle or even tuk tuk. I chose the bicycle and found mode just right for a casual ride through the villages.

Koh Paen is home to another incredible homestay called the Bamboo Hut... but that's another blog entry!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Toll BoothToll Booth
Toll Booth

This photo will always make me smile
sunset on the bridgesunset on the bridge
sunset on the bridge

Over looking Mekong River
VillagersVillagers
Villagers

Koh Paen
a strolla stroll
a stroll

Anthony, Koh Paen
the kidsthe kids
the kids

Kids of Koh Paen


Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0989s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb