Kompong Chnang


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » Central » Kampong Chhnang
November 2nd 2012
Published: December 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

From Wednesday to Friday we went to a claypot village called Kompong Chnang. On the busride we had the normal break, where people can eat something. But this break was not too long. The bus wanted to leave, everybody was in the bus, only Sython my project supervisor was missing. So I had to explain the driver with my very good Khmer knowledge (hands and feet) that there is somebody missing. But in the end we all arrived there. On Wednesday we went around the village to a lot of different people, who were all working with clay but on different ways. On Thursday I could have my own try with making pottery, which is really not easy! My hands were forming the pottery, but it was this lady that leaded my hands to form it. We let those things dry till the afternoon where we then added drawings on them. On the next day we polished the pottery, now it's ready to get burned. I also saw them building an oven for their pottery. The lady that showed me how to do pottery was really sweet, she took me with her to the kitchen when she had to cook. The kitchen was only two fireplaces under a roof. She cooked a fishsoup out of two fishheads, that she got from a plastic bag that was hanging right next to my head. She also introduced me to her neighbours which are all sisters or brothers of her. Their children were really funny, just trying their one and only english sentence on me: What's your name? But right after asking me they were hiding behind their parents or running away. In the end of our stay we went to the place where they get the clay from. There were really deep holes in the ground. Then we went back in the bus again, this time at the break Sython was asleep, but I woke him up before we continued our journey!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb