Around Yangon with an Old Friend


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Yangon Region » Yangon
June 13th 2015
Published: February 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

My last few days were spent in Yangon with an old high school friend. He's made a few appearances in my blog before, but usually because he's been visiting the city I'm in. Now, it's my turn! We're quite pleased that we've not only been friends for over 20 years, but that we've also managed to spend time together in four countries so far.

It was great to see Yangon through his eyes, meeting his friends, seeing places he loves, getting an idea what it's really like to live there, rather than just travel through. He took me out and about, giving me a guided tour of historic sites, favorite restaurants, basic shops, and the bank. (As a former bank employee, I always find foreign banks interesting. And in this case, wonderfully air conditioned.)

I'm already looking forward to next time, whether it's in Myanmar or country number five!


Additional photos below
Photos: 84, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Our SpreadOur Spread
Our Spread

It was fabulous!
LunchLunch
Lunch

This is a typical soup served with meals. Very refreshing!
SupermarketSupermarket
Supermarket

I felt very covert taking these photos.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb