Bagan Different Perspectives Newsletter July 15, 2008


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Mandalay Region » Bagan
July 15th 2008
Published: December 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Mandalay to Bagan Myanmar


Dear Patrons:

Welcome to our news letter. The Staff at Different Perspectives try to bring a clearer picture of current events effecting China and Asia .

Although we believe the international media driven primarily by western world's interests, is bringing the public events as they happen, we at Different Perspectives are independent and non biased without an agenda for prestige or monetary profit.

We simply feel the western world may be somewhat isolated from news that is local to our office here in Beijing, China .


Thank you
Different Perspectives Staff
Edward

Recently I have returned from a 9 week tour of South East Asia and reporting on my perspective and personal experience. Currently our newsletter is focusing on my 24 day trip through the country of Myanmar .
________________________________________

Saturday July 12, 2008 ET Hotel Written by Edward Mangan
Mandalay, Myanmar
10:30am

Today I will attempt to schedule a flight out of Mandalay for Bagan, Myanmar. I am packed up and ready to move after 4 days in this city. It took me a couple of days to relax but I've had an incredible time visiting with the locals.

I flew Air Bagan from Mandalay on the afternoon of Saturday July 12th. After making travel arrangements, taking care of business at the Internet Cafe and visiting my friend Hnin Hnin Yu at the temple, I regrouped at my hotel briefly and met my taxi that was arranged by my hotel.

After a group picture with my ET Hotel Staff, Hnin Hnin Yu (she insisted on accompanying me to the airport) and I piled into the taxi for my 32km ride to Mandalay international Airport. How do I just leave a city of generous loving people, some just acquaintances some a little bit more, maybe to never see again? It's beyond my understanding.

The flight from Mandalay was safe and comfortable. Air Bagan is one of two Myanmar Airlines that operate nationwide. The other is Myanmar Airways. Reports are that Air Bagan is owned by the son-in-law of the General Than Shwe (Myanmar ruling military leader). Myanmar Political Activists are known to fly only Myanmar Airways in protest of the current ruling government.

I flew Air Bagan since their flight schedule was more convenient for my travels. I would have preferred to fly Myanmar Airways.

On board were nationalist business and tourist passengers, and a group of traveling photo journalist from the New York City area. My eyes opened with amazement at seeing more white people than I had seen in my previous 4 weeks in Myanmar and southern China.

To hear English spoken freely was quite strange to my ears. I sat next to a blond hair, blue eyed woman. A new experience for me to see one once so familiar now somewhat foreign.

We disembarked our 30 passenger prop jet at Bagan International Airport. Into the hot July sun I gathered my Arc Tyrex 6000 pack and walked across the tarmac through the gate and into the quiet terminal. More airport workers and officials present than anyone else, save the NYC photo journalists.

After trying desperately to avoid a $10 USD "tourist fee" (for foreigners only), I quickly hustled past security, across the parking lot, and out onto the deserted street to wave a reasonably priced taxi for my ride to the Eden Hotel about 15 km away.

The airport is located in a barren dry desert like setting with virtually nothing else in the area. A stark site for me to see after being in Mandalay. Bagan is further west than Mandalay in "The Dry Zone" and the environment is dryer and hotter.

Walking through the terminal it was hard to miss a book titled "Burma" written by the American author George Orwell (author of the 1970's pop culture Animal Farm a "satire" of the Russian revolution) published in English on display up front for new arrivals to Bagan along with other tourist staples like maps and language books.

I was somewhat perplexed, knowing what I knew about the strained relationship between Myanmar and America, and to have an American Authors books on a display table right next to the Myanmar Military Airport Security Personal.

After a few interactions with eagar taxi drivers I convinced one Bagan cabbie that I "had experience" with this and got a ride into town for about 2$ usd. Through the barren flat dry dusty landscape of central Myanmar about a 15 km ride we approached the small north side village of Bagan and my digs The Eden Guest House.

Welcomed generously as I had been throughout Myanmar the Eden Guest House clerk showed me to my room. Walls lined with teak wood paneling, floor of teak, and teak furniture the room was quiet, clean, warm and comfortable. With nice private bath and AC (which really is necessary in this part of the world) including breakfast for 9$ usd per night. I was the only guest in the hotel.

I slept well in the night after a not so good dinner at the "Little Bit of Bagan Restaurant".
I was slowly learning how to navigate "away" from the tourist trail. Most places I dined in
where family owned with traditional Myanmar food and inexpensive.

Being the somewhat educated person that I am I figured with a name like "A little Bit of Bagan" they would serve traditional food. However that was not the case which became a somewhat common experience for me as I popped in and out of the "tourist route".

My first morning in Bagan started with a breakfast served of eggs (the way I like them I'm offered) toast, fruit, jam and locally grown coffee I was a happy camper. Personal service
by Mang Soe my guest house clerk, on the roof top veranda the size of a small open air restaurant nicely decorated with heavy well built teak furniture.

The sun coming up and the temperature climbing through 30 C, I was comfortable feeling safe in my world, seemingly a world away from familiarity.

After breakfast while enjoying another cup of Myanmar coffee I plotted out my plan for the day on a nice map Mang Soe went across the street to buy for me. Also as usual Mang Soe and the other guest clerk were more than willing to help me plan my day.

I started out the day renting a bicycle from the shop/restaurant across the street for 1000 khat ($1 usd). North to the jetty on the Irrawaddy River a short ride but enough to get acclimated to the village of Bagan, I met a number of all friendly and polite local people. One group of women with their children in particular were very friendly. Squatting on the side of the road selling some water and candies.

Arriving at the jetty, I navigated walking my bike through a few inches of river water flooding the area out to a cafe to sit and meet the locals, some bathing in the river. Poor and similar living conditions to the river people in Mandalay. I love the people here it's hard to see them struggle.

Onward toward the south end of the village and by a few village temples I stopped at a small shop to listen to a monk praying and giving lessons to a few local Buddhist residents. A young 28 year old Myanmar woman befriended me and I spoke with her about the meaning of the monks lessons next door.

She explained that there was a Buddhist holiday approaching and it was instruction on living the Buddhist culture during the holiday.

Off on my bike I spent the hot afternoon taking in the sites through Bagan proper and across the dry plains down the desolate flat boulevard running south. I gazed out across the horizon at numerous massive sized temples, and dozens of Pagodas and Stu pas over the distant desert like terrain. Literally surrounded by 100's of Buddhist sanctuary's dotting the landscape I was to, say the least completely overwhelmed virtually alone embarking on an experience that I would remember for a lifetime.
________________________________________

Again Welcome to our news letter. As is common with our objective the following articles are of interest in upholding the purpose of our newsletter to offer a different perspective.
________________________________________
(italics text by Different Perspectives staff)


Developing countries feeling fallout from meltdown
By HARRY DUNPHY - 1 day ago
WASHINGTON (AP) — Searching for ways to tackle the unfolding economic crisis, global finance ministers are turning attention to the fallout in developing countries and poor nations.
President Bush and world financial leaders sought to display unity Saturday as a way to calm investors whose panic has spread despite stepped up government action.
The crisis dominated discussions at the meeting of the Group of Seven industrialized nations and the annual sessions of the International Monetary Fund and World Bank. Many participants spoke in unusually somber tones of the need for action.
The talks shifted Sunday to the World Bank and its policy-setting committee, led by Mexican Finance Minister Agustin Carstens and the bank's president, Robert Zoellick, a former U.S. diplomat and trade negotiator.
As a result of the downturn, developed countries are not expected to help 28 countries facing twin shocks of rising food and fuel prices, Zoellick said. "For the poor, the costs of the crisis could be lifelong," he said.
Bush said his administration was doing everything possible to halt the biggest market disruption since the Great Depression. Accompanied by Treasury Secretary Henry Paulson and Federal Reserve Chairman Ben Bernanke, he participated for about 25 minutes in a discussion late Saturday with the Group of 20 nations, which includes wealthy countries as well as major developing countries such as China, Brazil and India.
White House spokesman Tony Fratto said Bush acknowledged the problem began in the United States, but told participants that "we're all in this together."

________________________________________

World Bank to protect poor from economic turmoil
By HARRY DUNPHY, Associated Press Writer Sun Oct 12, 5:52 PM ET
WASHINGTON - The World Bank agreed Sunday to help developing countries strengthen their economies, bolster their financial systems and protect the poor against the financial turmoil in international markets.


He said any prolonged tightening of credit or a sustained global slowdown could cause serious setbacks to developing countries' efforts to improve the lives of their populations. Such countries are already struggling with high prices for energy and food.
"We need concerted global action now not just to deal with this crisis, but to put in place new architecture, new norms, and new oversight to ensure that this crisis never happens again," he said.
"The poorest and must vulnerable groups risk the most serious — and in some cases, permanent — damage," Zoellick said. "One hundred million people have already been driven into poverty this year and that number will grow."
Zoellick said the financial crisis underscored the need for "concerted global action now, not just to deal with the crisis but to put in place new architecture, new norms and new oversight to ensure that this crisis never happens again."
He said the bank and the IMF must ensure that as governments turn their attention to domestic matters, they do not step back from their commitment to provide billions in aid to poor countries.
"Aid flows must be maintained," Zoellick said. "Today's meeting of ministers was unanimous in that regard."
The head of the bank's policy-setting committee, Mexican Finance Minister Agustin Carstens, said ministers were unanimous in their view "that the World Bank had to protect the poor and vulnerable in the context of the global financial crisis." He said the Bank needs to be flexible to address the differing problems faced by poor countries and those with rapidly growing economies.
In remarks to the committee, Treasury Secretary Henry Paulson said global unity was needed, not isolationism and protectionism, which do not offer a way to contain the spreading damage. He expressed concern about the fallout on poor countries.

________________________________________

Next time on Different Perspectives we'll continue our travels through the dry zone of Myanmar visiting the people, and temples in the heart of the worlds Buddhist culture, Bagan ,Myanmar.

We hope you will join us. Until then

"Those who accept that we all die someday settle their quarrels"
Dhammapada
Peace

Edward
Different Perspectives Staff



Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb