Mandalay Different Perspectives Newsletter July 14, 2008


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Mandalay Region » Mandalay
July 14th 2008
Published: December 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Mandalay, Myanmar


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Dear Patrons:

Welcome to our news letter. The Staff at Different Perspectives try to bring a clearer picture of current events effecting China and Asia .

Although we believe the international media driven primarily by western world's interests, is bringing the public events as they happen, we at Different Perspectives are independent and non biased without an agenda for prestige or monetary profit.

We simply feel the western world may be somewhat isolated from news that is local to our office here in Beijing, China .



Thank you
Different Perspectives Staff
Edward


This News letter is a series of edited copyrighted published articles as well as essays on the conditions in South East Asia countries from an eyewitness perspective.

Recently I have returned from a 9 week tour of South East Asia and am reporting on my perspective and personal experience. Currently our newsletter is focusing on my 24 day trip through the country of Myanmar .
________________________________________




July 11, 2008 ET Hotel
Mandalay, Myanmar
10:30am

Slept OK. Quite warm in my room, but bearable. No AC in this room although it had a ceiling fan over my bed that oscillated eccentrically, threatening to dis-lodge from it's mount. The electricity on and off through the night, but not as sporadically as in Pin y oo lyn. Nice breakfast as usual with first class service, seemed to be the norm for accommodations in Myanmar. Of course it helped too that I was the only "tourist" in most of the hotels that I stayed at in getting service. Most of the time the staff was more than happy have me, and go out of their way for me personally. I had no complaints. During breakfast my clerk friend had plenty of time to spend with me helping me get my bearings and put together an agenda for my day in Mandalay.

First I stepped out onto the steps of the hotel overlooking the cities streets and headed left in search of an Internet cafe at 82nd and 24th street. Mandalay's streets are laid out in a north south east west grid pattern. Some handy work done by the British civil engineers during their occupation around the turn of the 20th century. Made the task of navigating the city less much less challenging. Arriving at the Internet cafe I was able to download and store my digital camera pictures and recorded media onto
my travel drive safely. Internet connections were readily available in Myanmar, but restrictions applied. For example some cafes were hooked into the "Freedom Server" and some were not. The one's that were not hooked in would only connect with local e-mail services, not services that I needed like Yahoo and Google. Also depending on where I went the computer hardware was sometimes outdated, so it was impossible for me to download. This cafe had good service. I downloaded every couple of days depending on how many pictures I took. Some pictures I uploaded to Yahoo mail just in case I lost my camera and my travel drive, I'd have some pictures stored on the Yahoo server. In my travel journal I referred this bi-daily activity as "hitting the Internet cafe to take care of some business".

Business taken care of I strolled left out of the Internet cafe, south in search of some much needed fruit. Living in China I had made a habit of keeping a good supply of fresh fruits and vegetables which I could buy at the neighborhood store almost any time of the year. Food in China is incredibly plentiful everywhere. Any type of fresh seafood, vegetables, fruits, dairy products, meats and bread can be found almost anywhere. Baked goods and ice cream are the best and the variety of fresh vegetables is beyond anything I have ever seen.

OK so here I am in Mandalay, Myanmar the hot climate temperature rising by the minute looking for some fresh fruit and pointing my antennas toward the market a few blocks away. I was hoping that a city the size of Mandalay would offer a better supply of fruits than I had seen in the mountains. What I saw was struggling market atmosphere. A good assortment of vegetables, but many of the types seemed small, less than mature and not as fresh as one would expect. Of course it didn't help that Mandalay is a dry hot somewhat dusty city. I got use to the miniature bananas, about half the size of a regular banana,
sometimes smaller. Apples were difficult to come by. Citrus fruits somewhat more plentiful, but not as fresh as one would expect. Food in general was of limited availability through my travels in Myanmar. Some small pockets of fresh food was had
but it seemed that meat was easier to obtain than vegetables, fruits, and breads. Another factor that I needed to get use to since
the my Chinese diet was light on meat. After 30 minutes or so of talking to anyone and everyone in the market area, it was time to sit for some kaffe and a chat with the locals at a typical sidewalk cafe. Small plastic tables and chairs almost sitting on the ground. Cracking out my Lonely Planet Guide Book for a gander and keeping my camera close by for photo ops' I took advantage of the friendly locals to chat and take break out of the hot sun. Buddhist Monks among other locals mostly unemployed men occupied the lay ed back hot atmosphere of the cafe. A relaxing spot to reflect on my morning of breakfast company, Internet cafe locals and market people and now the presence of Buddhist Monks by my side as they drink tea and I sip Myanmar mountain grown kaffe.

As the Mandalay sun rose to it's apex, I strolled out of the cafe to the right and south in the direction of the Irrawaddy River. My interest in visiting the Irrawaddy river neighborhood and it's people was my goal for the afternoon. Coming upon a trick saw driver who had no problem offering his services I decided to employ him and take a ride to the river, rather than walk. A friendly man I took the opportunity to ask him his feelings about the state of the country and his hopes. More than happy to accommodate me with his opinion I was somewhat surprised at his willingness to speak openly in public. Many places in Myanmar if you are in the wrong place at the wrong time government spies (similar to western CIA or detectives) can detain you and question your political agenda. Especially if the one is talking with a westerner. I appreciated his interview, recorded it and we were off, me in the sidecar, he peddling laboriously through the potholed streets of the city, our destination the The Irrawaddy River.

Approaching the river we entered a large parking area. On one side the city streets. On the other side the banks of the river. As we rolled across the parking lot, almost vacant with vehicles, save a few trick saws, bikes and delivery trucks, my curiosity took control as too what foreign environment I was to embark on. As we got closer, I instructed my driver to meet me about 300 meters east in the parking lot, and I would meet him after I walked along the banks of the river to take pictures and meet with the river residents. The bank down the the river was steep and a distance of about 10 meters where small very basic make shift bamboo lined the river bank. Most of the structures no bigger than a small bedroom and open to the air, although with a bamboo or combination corrugated metal roof. Floors made of bamboo with maybe a blanket and pillows for comfort. The neighborhood, had a population of about 500. Some elderly, most families with 3-4 children, many 1-2 years of age.

Off shore about 10 meters long boats docked anchored. Similar in style to the common Asian junket. A Myanmar woman waded through 1 meter of water for 10 meters to reach shore with a firewood on her back unloaded from a boat. A family of 3 washing there dinner dishes as they wade in the river adjacent to their makeshift junket, which was a really just a wooded raft about 20 feet square in size open on one side with a roof. The families belongings totaling a couple blankets, pans to cook with and a few dishes. Next door on an open floor raft a woman washes her hair in relative privacy away from activity.

As I moved down the edge of the parking lot parallel to the river bank I popped in and out between shelters for a look out onto the river. Most people welcomed me, acknowledge me and were more than willing in their humble way to let me take their picture. Woman with babies, families will elderly all, freely offering me a look at their homes. I was moved. The children were incredibly interactive swarming around me with smiles on all the faces. In stark contrast to their parents somewhat revealing stare of the reality in which they live. I remember looking through my view finder at a group of children 5 or 6 of them each portraying a different looking tribal ethnicity. Myanmar is a country of diverse ethnic tribes. I saw it in these kids faces.
Checking my bearings off in the distant my trick saw river waited patiently with a smile. How one manages a genuine smile
while making 1 or 2 dollars a day, is beyond my comprehension. A wonderful people.

Hoping back into the sidecar of my trick saw driver we set off slowly, me looking back at the children and and families staring with smiles as they watch us leave. Quiet from the children's excitement I gazed out in front of me contemplating what I had seen as the trick saw rolled through the streets toward of Mandalay taking me back to the relative familiar to me ET Hotel.

After regrouping with a cold shower (many places that I stayed at in Myanmar had cold water only which wasn't so bad since it was a very hot climate. I never thought I'd guess use to cold showers, but it's doable. Around 5 pm my Islamic friend arrived to motor bike me out to Mandalay Hill. A large hill with a peaked lookout and tourist about 300 meters above the Mandalay valley
floor. By the time we arrived dusk settled in and the steep road climb to the peak was shaded by thick forest and somewhat dark. Out of the side of my eye as our motto bike putted up the hill, I saw my first cobra snake dancing across the road as we passed. Full of energy the cobra's head danced at least 1/2 meter above the road as it quickly navigated to the woods on the other side. I mentioned this to my driver and he confirmed that there was a lot of snakes in this area. From my guide book
Myanmar registers the most lethal snakes of any country in the world. (more on cobra's later).

At the peak there was still light enough to take in the aerial view of the Mandalay Valley. To my left and south on the horizon 20
km was the area of my hotel. In the foreground was the National Palace it's massive 100 meter wide moat surrounding the 10 km square ancient compound. Straight ahead to the west the Irrawaddy River passes Mandalay from the north on it's way to Yangon and the Irrawaddy Delta about 1000 km south of Mandalay. Below the city landscape a building of barrack type architecture dominates a neighborhood 20 km away. I'm told that it is a prison that was constructed in the late 1970's by the present government, to house inmates convicted of common crimes as well as crimes such as treason.

A look at a beautiful SE Asia landscape of peaceful characteristics, we mounted our motto bike for the ride back to Central Mandalay. On my agenda was a bite to eat, so I asked my driver to let me off a traditional Myanmar restaurant. We rode along the wide boulevard parallel to the National Palace until he pointed out a spot. A typical street side neighborhood restaurant i sat outside at small table with small chair. Buzzing with dinner time activity the place was to capacity, the kitchen open to the street and the usual amount of laid back somewhat disorganized but comfortable, friendly and safe that I had been use to in this country. I ordered by pointing and using hand gestures, as usually works. The people more than willing to help me order. Ordering was actually easy since everyone was getting the special of the day, so all i had to do was point and say I'll have one, holding up my index finger.
After a pleasant no frills dinner with the locals I was on the gridded street of the city back across blocks 21 to 29 take a right on 29th street go a couple blocks and take a left on 82 street to my ET Hotel, and my bed. Another beautiful day among a people
of incredible strength to survive that carry a smile and humble stature. I'm grateful to have experienced the Mandalay people.



Again Welcome to our news letter. As is common with our objective the following articles are of interest in upholding the purpose of our newsletter to offer a different perspective.
________________________________________
(italics text by Different Perspectives staff)



Myanmar media stress important role of teachers


www.chinaview.cn 2008-10-07 11:22:24
Print


YANGON, Oct. 7 (Xinhua) -- Myanmar official media Tuesday stressed the important role of school teachers in producing human resources capable of facing and overcoming the challenges of knowledge age in the 21st Century.
In its editorial, the state-run New Light of Myanmar called for efforts to assign enough teachers in every region including border areas and to conduct more teacher ship and management courses.
Pointing out that high morale is primary in striving for all-round development of youths, the editorial held that teachers are to train and inculcate the students with knowledge, education and skill as well as with the habit of helping and understanding others and observing ethics and morality.
Under a 30-year long-term education promotion plan, the editorial urged all teachers to teach, train and nurture the students like their own children, saying that only then will qualified intellectuals and technocrats capable of serving the national interest.
Meanwhile, Myanmar education authorities have also emphasized the need for rural schools in the country to strive for keeping pace with urban ones to reduce the development gap of education between the two areas, urging the teachers to make their utmost in the aspects.
According to official statistics, 86.41 percent of basic education schools are in rural areas with 68.25 percent of students being rural people.
As of 2007, the number of basic education schools in Myanmar amounted to 40,553 with the number of teachers registering 260,000 and that of students 8.83 million. Multi-media classrooms stood 1,694 in number as of the same period, statistics indicate.
More figures reveal that there were 64 universities and colleges in the country with 520,000 higher education students up to the period.

________________________________________

Burma Military Junta Continues To Arrest Activists this is misleading read further down in the article, it states that they don't know why he was arrested.
Monday, 6 October 2008, 9:29 am
Press Release: Terry Evans
Press release: Terry Evans
5 October 2008
Despite last month's release of 9,000 prisoners, including a handful of political detainees, Burma's military junta continues to arrest pro-democracy activists.
Last week Ohn Kyaing, a journalist and prominent political ally of the detained pro-democracy leader Aung San Suu Kyi, was arrested at his Rangoon home.
He was previously arrested in September 1990 by Burma's notorious Military Intelligence, and was subsequently jailed for 15 years for "writing and distributing seditious pamphlets". Ohn Kyaing won a seat in the parliamentary elections in 1990 that were annulled by the Burmese generals.
The reason for his recent arrest is still unknown, but Ohn Kyaing had been involved in efforts to help the survivors of cyclone Nargis.

________________________________________

Myanmar junta leader Maung Aye to visit Bangladesh Tuesday
South Asia News
Oct 6, 2008, 10:39 GMT
Dhaka - The vice-chairman of Myanmar military junta is scheduled to make a three-day official visit to Bangladesh, a foreign ministry official said Monday.
General Maung Aye, who is also the head of the Myanmar army, will lead a 55-member delegation including seven government ministers to discuss a host of outstanding issues between the neighbour nations.
Maung Aye is scheduled to meet with the chief of Bangladesh's interim administration, Fakhruddin Ahmed, to discuss bilateral concerns, said the official.
Trade and commerce, communications and border security are among the topics of the talks. Import of Bangladesh medicines to Myanmar, construction of a Bangladesh-Myanmar road and bilateral trade fairs are also on the agenda.
During his stay in Bangladesh, Maung will also make a courtesy call on President Iajuddin Ahmed.
He will also lay a floral wreath at the National Mausoleum in Savar to show respect to the Bangladesh's 1971 liberation war heroes, visit the Military Institute of Science and Technology in Mirpur and attend a luncheon with army officers in south-eastern Rangamati hill district.

US group studies potential war crimes by Myanmar military
6 days ago
WASHINGTON (AFP) — An independent US group is to carry out unprecedented studies to determine whether Myanmar military rulers, accused of rampant human rights abuses, have committed international crimes.
The Center for Constitutional Democracy at Indiana University's school of law said it would launch the research based on anecdotal evidence of "severe mistreatment" of marginalized ethnic groups by the junta.
"At this stage of the project, I can't honestly say that there are international crimes," the center's executive director, David Williams, told AFP by telephone.
"What I can say is there may be, and part of our goal would be to gather the evidence and try to come out with some objective conclusions about whether there are or not," he said.
The center's goal, he said, was to make focused research "in areas where perhaps it is most likely that international crimes were committed."
Only the Hague-based International Criminal Court (ICC) can determine whether international crimes, such as war crimes and crimes against humanity, have been committed by any individual or group.
So far, Williams said, there has been no institutional focus on possible international crimes committed by Myanmar junta, which imposed a bloody crackdown of pro-democracy protests in September earning global condemnation.
The crackdown -- according to United Nations figures -- left 31 people dead and 74 others missing, and resulted in thousands of arrests.
The military rulers had also come under international fire and were called "heartless" by some humanitarian groups for initially not allowing foreign aid when a cyclone left 138,000 people dead or missing in May.
Myanmar also houses more than 2,100 political prisoners, including democracy icon and Nobel peace prize winner Aung San Suu Kyi, who has spent more than 12 of the last 18 years under house arrest.
Williams said that although the ICC had not initiated any study on the military junta's record so far, "ours might be a good place for them to get started.
"It might help the various investigators know where to go and what allegations to examine and so forth," he said.
When asked whether in his personal opinion some of the junta's actions could be deemed as international crimes, Williams said: "What I might be able to say is that it looks to me, in my professional opinion, like there is a good chance that it is.
"And it makes sense therefore to bring a prosecution because there is enough evidence that a court should be able to see it."
The university group's staff had been for the last six years helping ethnic groups inside Myanmar -- at their request -- draw up constitutional reforms in their struggle to win greater freedom and rights.
Law professor Williams had smuggled himself into Myanmar on various occasions and worked on constitutional reforms with the Karen ethnic group, fighting the government since 1947 in the world's longest running civil war.
"I am hearing endless stories about how the military government is murdering villagers, it's blowing up rice paddies so that they dry out, it's setting fires to villages, it's laying mines in those villages so that when the people come back some of them get blown up," he said.
"The result is that they have to move often to hills and find a new place to build a village and start growing rice. That means in a relatively short period of time there is famine because old rice paddies have to be abandoned."
Williams said while he did not witness the Myanmar military units attacking the Karen guerrilla resistance units, he saw "evidence of the military going after the civilian population.
"That's just the tip of the iceberg in itself and that doesn't constitute conclusive evidence of an international crime but it makes you think," he said.
________________________________________
Next time on Different Perspectives we'll leave Mandalay and travel to the City of Bagan, Myanmar the center of the worlds Buddhist cultural history. We hope you will join Until then

"Those who accept that we all die someday settle their quarrels"
Dhammapada
Peace

Edward
Different Perspectives Staff





Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb