Brunei Darussalam - the Abode of Peace


Advertisement
Brunei's flag
Asia » Brunei » Bandar Seri Begawan
May 6th 2007
Published: January 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The most famous mosque in BruneiThe most famous mosque in BruneiThe most famous mosque in Brunei

Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque at night
I have been to all countries in South East Asia (except East Timor). Brunei is the last country in SE Asia that I visited, and also my favorite country in the region. In May 2007, I visited Bandar Seri Begawan (BSB) for a few days and enjoyed a great time over there. From Hanoi, I flew to Kuala Lumper then BSB on Air Asia budget airlines. My 15 hour transit at the LCCT (low cost carrier terminal) in KL was so long. Waiting for 15 hours over night at the airport was a real challenge to my patience. However, it was also fun watching people at the airport passing by me and I thought “This is my life! I love this.” At that time, I still needed a Brunei visa (visa fee US$12), but some months later, the two governments signed a visa exemption agreement, so we no longer needed a visa.

Flight from KL to BSB took 2 hours. From Brunei International Airport to the city's center, I got a taxi B$25 one way, as the bus stopped working at 6pm (bus cost only B$1 one way). The first Bruneian I talked to was my taxi driver. He was
Kampong Ayer water villageKampong Ayer water villageKampong Ayer water village

A mosque on the water at Kampong Ayer water village.
very happy when I said I came from Vietnam. He said he liked Vietnam, although he has not been there and planned someday he would go to see my country. It took us about 10-15 minutes from the airport to the city's center, where my guest house is located.

After I checked in, I went to get some dinner. There was a night market near my guest house and the locals said the night markets were only opened at the weekends. There were very few shoppers in the stores. Most of the locals at the night market gathered near the musical stage, where some singers were performing local songs. I wanted to find a Chinese restaurant, but ended up meeting with an old Indian man who owned an Indian restaurant near the night market. He helped me choose food which wasn't spicy at my request, so I had rice, fish and vegetables.

When I was back at the guest house, I talked with a Japanese tourist named Taki. We decided to go to Kampong Ayer water village next morning. It was great to meet another traveler and be able to share the experience of the trip. At that
Sunset over the seaSunset over the seaSunset over the sea

I am sitting at Jerudong beach behind the 7-star Empire Hotel.
time, a water taxi to see the village cost B$10 for 30 minutes and B$20 for an hour. The village was formed hundreds of years ago and everything in the village is located on water, even houses, mosque, gas station, school etc. The main means of transport is water taxis. When we passed by some local houses, we also saw electrical poles with the symbols of fire prevention. The most interesting part of the water taxi ride was the piles under houses when our water taxi moved around to avoid them.

In the afternoon, my Bruneian friend Charles and his aunt came to my guest house to pick me up and show me around the city in their car. Charles saw my questions about Brunei on the Thorn Tree travel forum. He sent me a message just 2 days before my trip and said he wanted to meet with me during my visit in BSB. His aunt didn’t like to go out in the sun, especially the heat at 3pm. I very much appreciated their patience on that day. First, we went to Jame'Asr Hassanal Bokliah Mosque. This mosque is located far from the center, so we needed to
Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque

The mosque and the royal barge at night.
go there by local bus or by car. Unfortunately, 4pm was the praying time for the muslims, so I couldn’t get inside the mosque to see its interior architecture.

Our next destination was the 7-star Empire Hotel and Country Club. There were not many people over there. We went through the hall toward Jerudong beach to take photos of the sunset. My favorite photo on the trip, also my favorite photo taken in 2007, is the one when I was wearing my Vietnamese traditional dress and sitting next to a coconut tree at beautiful sunset by the South China Sea. I also liked the high columns inside the hotel. They are very special, I’ve never seen any similar architecture anywhere.

My next day was spent visiting Regalia Royal Museum where I got some information about the Sultan and his family. The famous mosque at the heart of the city, Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque, was built in the 1960s. This is one of the most famous mosques in the world because of their golden dome and amazing architecture. I came to the mosque 3 times on that day (morning, sunset and evening) to see how the color and light changed. The muslims over there were very friendly to me. I experienced the most quiet and peaceful moment, when sitting by the lagoon and watching the sunset over the mosque. It made me feel like I could forget all the concerns in my life.

At the time I visited Brunei (in May 2007), the cheapest room at a guest house like KH Soon Rest House cost B$30/night (US$20), and the most expensive Emperor room at the 7-star Empire Hotel and Country Club was B$26,000/night (US$18,000). As for food, it cost B$3-5 for a meal. I had eaten at the Indian, Chinese, Bruneian and fast food restaurants.

I believe there are many mosques in BSB. The two mosques that I visited are the biggest and most famous mosques in the country. I also liked the 7 star Empire Hotel and Country Club, Jerudong beach, Regalia Royal Museum and Kampong Ayer water village.

I saw very few tourists in this country. This may be the most relaxing and quiet country in SE Asia, as the population is only 360,000 people. When the muslims saw me sitting alone at the mosque, some approached and asked me where I came from.
Kampong Ayer water villageKampong Ayer water villageKampong Ayer water village

Houses, schools, electrical poles, water pipes, gasoline stations... everything is on the water at Kampong Ayer water village.
They were very surprised when they knew that I am from Vietnam and that a Vietnamese girl traveled solo in their country. The guard of the mosque even ran around to find my lost glasses and we found them out at the royal barge on the lagoon. I left my glasses there when taking some photos. On my way back to the guest house after visiting the mosque, the shops were close at 8pm. I wanted to buy a bottle of water, a local guy asked me what I was looking for and told me “Go by my car”. I didn’t take his offer, but very touched by his kindness. The old Indian man, who owned the restaurant, offered me a cup of Indian tea and even wanted to bring me to the Sultan's Oil Company (60km away from BSB) in his car. He said anytime if I needed a help, just gave him a call, he would come to help me. He and his staff were very friendly to me, same as the people at my guest house in BSB.

When I carried my backpack and walked toward the security area at the airport after checking up my
Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque

The mosque in the morning
luggage, I looked back and saw my Bruneian friend and his aunt waving good bye to me. I always remember that sight. They were so considerate to me, not only spent a half day showing me around the city in their car and invited me a Bruneian dinner, but also saw me off at the airport. My friend said that in Brunei, families and friends are always important. Most of the shops in BSB close very early and people go home after praying at the mosques. If they go to help or see off a friend, then it’s always a priority reason.

****

Meeting with my old friends from Brunei Darussalam

Sunday 23 March 2009 - I met with Charles and his aunt in Hanoi. It took 2 years since they first planned for the trip until they finally arrived in Vietnam. When I walked towards them, I saw them waving "hello" to me. That sight reminded me of the moment when they waved "good bye" to me at Brunei International Airport 2 years ago. I was so happy to meet with my friends again, right here in Hanoi. We spent some hours walking around and seeing some sites in Hanoi then enjoyed lunch at a Vietnamese restaurant. Charles and his aunt spent 6 days in Hanoi and Ha Long bay. They also brought to me a gift from Brunei.

Những ấn tượng về Brunei trong chuyến đi 6 ngày (tháng 5/2007)

Sau khi đã đến thăm tất cả các nước ở Đông Nam Á (ngoại trừ Đông Timor), tôi mong muốn được đến thăm Brunei. Từ Hà Nội, tôi bay cùng Hàng không Air Asia đến sân bay LCCT ở Kuala Lumpur và thức trắng một đêm ở đó để chờ nối chuyến bay đi thủ đô Bandar Seri Begawan (BSB), tổng cộng mất 26 tiếng đồng hồ chỉ để di chuyển và chờ đợi. Ở Brunei, xe buýt ngừng làm việc vào lúc 6 giờ tối, nên tôi phải đi bằng taxi B$25 (US$16), mất khoảng 15 phút từ sân bay về đến nhà trọ. Dân số của Brunei rất ít, chỉ có 360.000 người, nên ngay trên con đường từ sân bay vào thành phố thấy tối om và chỉ có lác đác một vài xe ô tô.

Sau khi nhận phòng xong, tôi ra phố để tìm đồ ăn. Gần
The 7-star Empire HotelThe 7-star Empire HotelThe 7-star Empire Hotel

High column inside the 7-star Empire Hotel.
nhà trọ của tôi là khu chợ đêm và chợ này chỉ hoạt động vào tối thứ bảy và chủ nhật hàng tuần. Một vài cửa hàng đang thu dọn và mọi người chuẩn bị về nhà, mặc dù lúc này mới chỉ là 8 giờ tối. Ở đất nước giàu có và thanh bình này, người ta không có khái niệm thức khuya hay làm việc nhiều. Tôi cũng nghe nói là ở đây không có quán bar, không bán rượu, không có cả karaoke và sàn nhảy.

Sáng hôm sau, tôi đi cùng Taki, một khách du lịch người Nhật mà tôi tình cờ gặp ở nhà trọ, đến thăm làng nổi Kampong Ayer bằng thuyền máy mà ở đây họ gọi là “water taxi”. Ngôi làng này đã có từ 600 năm trước và hiện có 30.000 người sinh sống trên sông Brunei. Tất cả nhà cửa, trường học, các cửa hàng, nhà thờ hồi giáo, thậm chí cả sân bóng đều được xây trên mặt nước và mọi người đi lại bằng water taxi. Một chiếc water taxi có thể chở được 6 người. Trên đường đi, chúng tôi thấy một chiếc cầu dài, trạm
The 7-star Empire Hotel The 7-star Empire Hotel The 7-star Empire Hotel

Behind me is the 7 star Empire Hotel and Jerudong beach.
bơm nước, một nhà thờ hồi giáo rất đẹp, trường học, rừng cây, những cột điện có hình hai ngọn lửa hai bên v.v. Chiếc thuyền của chúng tôi đi vào giữa hàng cột và đâm phải một cây cột khác, rồi lại tiếp tục len lỏi qua những cây cột là trụ nhà. Đây là nơi chúng tôi thích nhất, có cảm giác như mình đang khám phá một điều bí hiểm vậy.

Buổi chiều, Charles, một người bạn người Brunei mà tôi mới quen trên Thorn Tree forum, đến nhà trọ cùng bà cô và chở tôi đi thăm quan một số nơi ở BSB bằng xe ô tô. Nơi đầu tiên chúng tôi đến thăm là Sultan Palace (Istana Nurul Iman). Đây là nơi Quốc Vương và gia đình đang sinh sống, cũng là văn phòng chính phủ, nhưng nơi này chỉ mở cửa cho dân chúng vào xem mỗi năm một lần trong dịp lễ Hari Raya vào tháng 9 hoặc tháng 11, còn bình thường thì đóng cửa và chỉ có thể chụp ảnh từ bên ngoài. Theo như tờ thông tin về Brunei thì đây là Palace lớn nhất thế giới, kéo dài đến hơn nửa km với 1.788 gian phòng, nhiều hơn Vatican ở Rome đến 388 phòng.

Tiếp theo, chúng tôi đến thăm Nhà thờ hồi giáo Jame'Asr Hassanal Bolkiah. Lúc này là khoảng 4 giờ chiều, nhưng trời vẫn rất nóng. Nhà thờ hồi giáo này có kiến trúc rất đẹp, được xây dựng nhân kỷ niệm 25 năm ngày Quốc Vương Sultan lên ngôi và mang tên của vị Quốc Vương hiện nay. Nhà thờ có 29 chóp tháp dát vàng và những cột cao với hoa văn xanh trắng trông rất trang nhã. Chúng tôi đi vòng ra phía sau và thấy một khoảng sân nhỏ với các bức tường vẽ hoa văn rất đẹp và một bồn nước nhỏ. Lúc này đang là giờ cầu nguyện của người hồi giáo, nên chúng tôi không được phép vào bên trong nhà thờ.

Khi đi qua công viên Jerudong, tôi nhìn thấy những thảm cỏ xanh mướt và hiu quạnh không một bóng người bên trong công viên. Charles cũng chỉ cho tôi chỗ mọi người cắm trại, vì không có đủ nhà trọ hồi mấy năm trước, khi Michael Jacson đến đây biểu diễn. Đi tiếp
Kampong Ayer water villageKampong Ayer water villageKampong Ayer water village

An electrical pole on the water.
về hướng biển, chúng tôi tới thăm Khách sạn 7 sao Empire Hotel & Country Club. Ai cũng có thể đến thăm khách sạn này, không nhất thiết là phải thuê phòng tại đây. Chúng tôi đi thang máy xuống tầng dưới, đi qua sân và bể bơi. Các thảm cỏ ở đây xanh mướt như một sân gôn. Chúng tôi đi ra ngoài bãi biển Jerudong phía sau khách sạn. Charles giúp tôi chụp một kiểu ảnh ngồi trên thảm cỏ xanh dưới gốc cây dừa trong ánh hoàng hôn với chiếc áo dài hoa của Việt Nam. Bức ảnh có gam màu nâu vàng với phong cảnh tuyệt đẹp của vùng nhiệt đới và đây cũng là bức ảnh yêu thích nhất của tôi trong chuyến đi này.

Ngày hôm sau, tôi đi bộ từ nhà trọ đến Nhà thờ hồi giáo Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddien. Nhà thờ này được xây dựng vào năm 1958, với số tiền 5 triệu US$ vào lúc đó. Đây là một trong những nhà thờ hồi giáo nổi tiếng nhất thế giới, với các chóp tháp dát vàng và kiến trúc độc đáo. Nhà thờ cao 52m, sàn nhà dùng đá
Kampong Ayer water villageKampong Ayer water villageKampong Ayer water village

A water taxi at Kampong Ayer water village.
hoa cương nhập khẩu từ Italy, các bức tường bên ngoài dùng đá granite từ Thượng Hải, các cửa sổ dùng kính từ nước Anh, còn thảm thì nhập khẩu từ Saudi Arabia và Bỉ. Trên chóp tháp hình bầu tròn là đỉnh của nhà thờ có 3,3 triệu miếng vàng ghép lại với nhau trên diện tích 520m2. Ba mặt của nhà thờ là một hồ nước gần sông Brunei, còn ở trung tâm của hồ nước là bản sao chiếc thuyền rồng của hoàng gia từ thế kỷ 16, trước đây được dùng trong các buổi lễ có mang tính chất tôn giáo như thi đọc kinh Koran (Qu'ran).

Tại quầy lễ tân của nhà thờ, tôi phải đăng ký tên vào sổ, rồi mặc một chiếc áo choàng đen dài đến tận mắt cá chân. Thật kỳ lạ là người ta không yêu cầu tôi phải choàng khăn che tóc của phụ nữ hồi giáo như tôi đã hình dung. Sau khi mặc áo choàng xong, tôi bước trên con đường trải thảm đỏ và ngắm nhìn trần nhà và cửa sổ ở các hướng khác nhau. Tất cả đều tuyệt đẹp, từ các hoạ tiết trang trí trên trần nhà, giàn đèn, cho đến các ô cửa sổ lắp kính nhiều màu sắc, các tấm thảm dày được mang đến đây từ Trung Đông và Bỉ. Phần quan trọng nhất của nhà thờ là chiếc bục cao, nơi giáo chủ đọc kinh Koran (Qu'ran) qua micro. Theo lời người đàn ông trực lễ tân nói thì thỉnh thoảng Quốc Vương cũng tới đây để cầu nguyện.

Buổi chiều, tôi quay trở lại nhà thờ hồi giáo này để ngắm mặt trời lặn. Một số ngọn đèn màu xanh trên nóc nhà thờ đã được bật lên và càng làm tôn thêm vẻ đẹp lộng lẫy của các chóp tháp dát vàng. Ngồi bên hồ nước, tôi có thể nhìn thấy những ô vuông trên chóp tháp cao nhất với những miếng vàng dán lên từng ô. Phía trước mặt tôi là một ông già nhỏ bé đang ngồi thu lu trong một góc nhà thờ. Có lẽ ông cũng giống như tôi, cảm nhận thấy sự thanh bình tuyệt đối trong khung cảnh tĩnh mịch này, chỉ có tiếng gió và chim chóc hót véo von.

Đến 8 giờ tối, tôi ghé thăm
Omar Ali Saifuddien MosqueOmar Ali Saifuddien MosqueOmar Ali Saifuddien Mosque

The mosque is so beautiful in the morning.
nhà thờ hồi giáo lần cuối cùng. Lúc này tất cả các ngọn đèn đều đã được bật sáng, nên cả chiếc thuyền rồng và nhà thờ hồi giáo đều phản chiếu hình ảnh lung linh xuống mặt nước hồ. Có rất nhiều xe ô tô đỗ bên ngoài nhà thờ và tiếng loa cầu kinh ê a. Chắc là những người hồi giáo hết giờ làm việc, nên họ đến nhà thờ để cầu nguyện trước khi về nhà.

Điểm đến cuối cùng của tôi là Viện bảo tàng Royal Regalia. Đây là nơi lưu giữ các hiện vật của Hoàng gia và các quà tặng của Quốc Vương. Ở lối vào, chúng tôi phải bỏ giày dép để lên giá và đăng ký tên của mình vào sổ. Tất cả mọi nơi đều trải thảm, có điều hoà lạnh nên rất sạch sẽ. Đầu tiên là phần trưng bày chiếc xe kéo rất lớn, có hình đầu rồng của Hoàng gia với đầy đủ các hiện vật kèm theo là những chiếc khiên trang trí rất đẹp mà những người lính cầm theo, các loại ô nhiều màu sắc, mỗi màu có 8 chiếc. Trong tờ giới thiệu của Viện bảo tàng, người ta liệt kê là đi trong đoàn rước này còn có cả đội nhạc của Hoàng gia với trống chiêng v.v. Đây có lẽ là phần hoành tráng nhất trong Viện bảo tàng. Gian phòng bên trong là một đám rước có xe kéo và cả những hình người bằng giấy đứng hai bên đường nhìn theo đoàn rước với kích cỡ cao như người thật. Tầng 2 là nơi trưng bày các bộ quần áo cưới của Quốc Vương và các Hoàng Hậu, những tấm ảnh về gia đình Hoàng gia, có cả một gian phòng với rất nhiều ghế, có lẽ đó là sự kiện “Silver Jubilee Gallery” (Lễ kỷ niệm bạc) vào năm 1992 để kỷ niệm ngày Quốc Vương lên ngôi (Quốc Vương hiện nay lên ngôi vào năm 1968).

Các gian phòng tiếp theo trưng bày rất nhiều các tặng phẩm của các nguyên thủ quốc gia tặng cho Quốc Vương. Tôi tìm thấy một chiếc đĩa tròn của Việt Nam có in hình Chùa một cột, Tháp Rùa và Văn Miếu của Hà Nội. Các tặng phẩm khác cũng rất ấn tượng. Tôi chưa bao giờ hình
Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque

At Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque, the muslims have to leave their shoes at this place and wash their hands before going to the main hall for praying.
dung được là các món quà tặng lại đẹp đến như vậy. Phần cuối của Viện bảo tàng là gian phòng có những hình sáp của những người tham gia đàm phán để Brunei được độc lập từ thuộc địa của Anh. Mãi đến năm 1984, Brunei mới giành được độc lập và từ đó trở đi với nguồn dầu lửa dồi dào và dân số ít, đất nước này đã phát triển rất nhanh và trở nên giàu có trong khu vực.

Chỉ mất US$500, tôi đã tự đi du lịch trong vòng 6 ngày đến Brunei và Malaysia bằng nhiều thứ phương tiện khác nhau như xe buýt, máy bay, monorail, taxi, ô tô và water taxi. Thật là một chuyến đi vất vả, vì tôi đã phải di chuyển nhiều đến như vậy giữa các địa điểm. Hai ngườì mà tôi luôn nhớ đến sau chuyến đi này là Charles và bà cô của Charles ở BSB. Họ đã giúp đỡ tôi rất tận tình khi tôi ở đó, thậm chí còn chở tôi đi thăm quan thành phố và tiễn tôi ở sân bay. Một ông già người Ấn Độ là chủ của một nhà
The view from the Royal barge The view from the Royal barge The view from the Royal barge

The view of Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque from the royal barge on the lagoon.
hàng nhỏ cũng rất tốt. Ông nói là tôi có thể liên lạc với ông bất cứ lúc nào tôi cần sự giúp đỡ và thậm chí ông còn muốn chở tôi đến thăm giàn khoan dầu của Quốc Vương Brunei cách thủ đô 50km. Tôi cũng rất cảm động vì sự thân thiện của những người hồi giáo, khi họ nhìn thấy tôi ngồi một mình ở nhà thờ hồi giáo Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddien mà tôi đã đến thăm 3 lần trong một ngày.

Khi tôi ngồi ở sân bay LCCT chờ nối chuyến bay của mình đi BSB và nhìn dòng người nườm nượp qua lại, tôi thầm nghĩ "This is my life!". Đây là cuộc sống của tôi. Đó chính là những chuyến đi mang lại cho tôi thật nhiều cảm xúc. Thế giới này thật rộng lớn biết bao. Sau những chuyến đi đặt chân đến những vùng đất mới, gặp gỡ với biết bao nhiêu người thú vị, tôi đã tích luỹ được rất nhiều kiến thức và cũng đã trưởng thành hơn. Và điều quan trọng nhất, tôi đã không phí hoài tuổi trẻ của mình, mà đã đi, học hỏi, trải nghiệm và làm giàu thêm cuộc sống của chính mình.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Jame'Asr Hassanal Bokliah Mosque Jame'Asr Hassanal Bokliah Mosque
Jame'Asr Hassanal Bokliah Mosque

This photo was taken through a window when I was sitting inside the car. My Bruneian friend slowed down speed when we passed by the mosque.


23rd May 2008

about your essay
i would like to thank to you because of writing an essay about my country,Brunei Darussalam. i love my country!!!!! once again, thank you very much.
18th January 2010

bạn rất đam mê !
Cám ơn bạn nhiều ! Rất mong được biết bạn.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 12; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb