"I was in Bhutan"


Advertisement
Bhutan's flag
Asia » Bhutan » Thimphu
November 5th 2008
Published: November 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It seems reasonable to keep this as an apolitical assessment of my experiences. Sometimes, however, events are too large for reason. Noor and I spent the morning watching the election results come in, trying to share in the excitement evident all over the country. I have never seen anything like this. Of course, the real work is yet to begin, but this is truly an amazing day. The one insight I may be able to add is that essentially everyone that I have come into contact with outside of America, both locals and travelers alike, have been hoping for an Obama presidency. I'm sure I will remain with a large smile and renewed pride in America for the foreseeable future. Also, I have been getting daily personal emails from Barack, Michelle, Joe Biden, and Obama's election staff for the last several months, so possibly a cabinet position for yours truly???

Bhutan has been good. Noor is with me now, which is great and we are having lots of fun. Bhutan as a country is amazing. It is known as the "Land of the Thunder Dragon," which is about the best first impression a country can make. They make quite an effort to maintain their culture and sense of national identity by limiting the amount of tourists that can enter the country. It is evident as many of the citizens wear traditional dress and religion (Buddhism) is very much a part of daily life, but certainly the younger generation is into jeans, spiky hair, and cable TV. I have seen three pieces of Chicago Bulls paraphernalia. Bhutan is sandwiched between India and China, and evident is aspects of each culture, from the physical appearance of the people to the architecture.

I am certainly getting used to the medical work in these environments. The hospital runs essentially the same as the other places I've been. They do seem to have greater access to resources here, mostly due to donations from a predictable stream of volunteers. While the other countries have volunteers only intermittently, Bhutan has a 2-year waiting list as it is such a desirable and elusive country to visit.

As America elects our new leader, we in Bhutan also have the opportunity to be part of the coronation of the new king and the centennial celebration of the Wangchuck dynasty. Resembling a Bhutanese Elvis, he is 27 years old and seems to be well liked and respected by the public. The coronation celebration is this weekend, so I will post some more pics and talk a little about the government in Bhutan later.

I have purchased a traditional gho, which is quite comfortable, for the event which allows me to complete one more of my lifetime goals: to attend a coronation in a bathrobe. Noor bought the female equivalent, a kira, which has caused her to be mistaken for native Bhutanese. I have not had this problem. We wore our outfits while visiting local dzongs (monasteries) in the mountains surrounding Thimphu. It was very cool, and it is quite an experience to climb up a narrow stairway against the side of a cliff to arrive in a small room staffed by one monk and sip holy water with the scent of burning incense in the shadow of Buddha statues. It is a similar feeling to walking into an old cathedral or other holy place.

Anyhow, the pictures are a better story teller than I could ever be. I'll post some more later. Go America!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

noor and a yak (noor is on the right)noor and a yak (noor is on the right)
noor and a yak (noor is on the right)

I checked with her before making this joke


8th November 2008

Take that Bulungula Guy!
I want a pic of you in a Jordan jersey, dunkin on a local. BTW, was just in Tokyo - they got McRib, one of the hottest McD's items!! Go America!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb