The call to prayer--a postcard from Bangladesh


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Barisal
October 24th 2008
Published: October 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Call to Prayer in Bhola 30 secs
I've been back in Bangladesh for almost six weeks now, and must admit that I have been remiss in my communication. Life moves very quickly here, especially with our frequent traveling between our office in Dhaka and our field site in Barisal. I am working on an entry that will briefly explain what exactly it is that I do here in Bangladesh--the acronyms and places and terms and people that define my day to day life.

In the meantime, please accept this video as a virtual postcard from Bangladesh.

It is a video of a small village that we were visiting for work, taken during the afternoon call to prayer. The imam (priest) singing the call to prayer was in a stilted shack just beside where I stood as I took the video. Everything in it (from the bloomers that the little girl is wearing to the square pond surrounded palms) is fairly typical of rural life in Bangladesh and may give you a picture of the kinds of things I see every day when I am "out in the field."

Wish you were here!

xo,
Lib

Advertisement



26th October 2008

beautiful!
oh man do i miss the call to prayer. you should collect videos of them from all your different travels. that would make a really interesting video if you mashed all the scenes up.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb