um, thanks for lunch?!


Advertisement
Armenia's flag
Asia » Armenia » West » Yerevan
November 13th 2007
Published: November 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bon appe-nutin'
So today here in the land of Armenia - Bossman Tikki Tikki Timbo
sicked out on work. Well, actually his luggage was going to arrive
this morning so he stayed at the hotel. Considering it is now almost
2pm, I think he should have rolled into the office by now. But, I'll
keep that to myself. Actually, no, I'll share that with you.

Tikki and I are sitting with the Healthcare Finance Team, which
consists of L. and G.. This is G. I., because there are
several with the same name on the project. L. and G. are super super
super nice. The coffee machine in the kitchenette costs 200 AMD, or
just under a dollar. It is the most high tech machine I have ever
seen. It spits out your coffee in a little plastic cup AND the little
cup has the stirrer already in it. Deadly for the environment (all
that plastic), but cool to see a few times. Anyway, L.and G.
have what appears to be instant coffee in a little cupboard and this
morning they motioned me over to use some. And then, they set out
little snack trays. I don't know if this is everyday or what, but it
is like sweet nuts rolled in sesame, bananas, grapes, something that
looks like cheerios, a fruit that I've never seen before, and so on.
They keep offering it to me.

So to the point. R., the boss of the project had to go and sign some
forms at lunch today for his residency. Without his residency he can't
take possession of the freight that has been shipped over for him. So,
with Rick goes the driver. Yesterday for lunch we went to the
cafeteria of AUA (American University of Armenia). It's a bit too far
to walk so that was out of the question. G. and L. say
something along the lines of they walk at lunch and do I want to come
with them. So off I go. To cross the street you just sort of fling
yourself out into oncoming traffic and pray that they stop. They stop
in front of a little store and wave goodbye and off they go. I go into
the little store, it is like a mini-mart. I am thinking that they have
shown me this for lunch, which I am very grateful for. I walk up and
down the 3-4 aisles looking for something that I could eat, something
maybe ready made. No such luck. Or actually, my own ignorance because
I can't read Armenian or Russian.

I decide to maybe go for cheese and bread. I pick up a container that
looks like it may be feta cheese, a white block in water and then hang
around the bread case until someone starts speaking to me. Again,
kicking myself that I forgot to buy a Lonely Planet Armenia before I
came. I can't even say hello, thank you, please, or anything. I sort
of point in the politest way that I can to a loaf of bread.

Then, flinging myself back into traffic I try to walk back down the
main street, to the side street where the office is. I pass by a fruit
stand and decide to buy a few things for G. and L. to
reciprocate. More pointing, but I wind up with a few things. I try
what I imagine is a hybrid German-Russian "jah-dah" for yes. Everyone
in Armenia speaks Russian. And I don't think pre-1991 that was by
choice. I also saw the biggest heads of cabbages I have ever seen in
my life.

So, now back at the office, eating bread and cheese. Drinking a coke.
L. is offering me more snacks and coffee. I wish someone would
have told me to bring some presents for the office from the US, like
candy or something. I feel like a big heel. But if I go and buy some
here, it will be written in Armenian and look like total hindsight.
Fear not, I will think of something.

Advertisement



15th November 2007

In need of a travel guide
Bread and cheese is basically THE Armenian meal/snack/anything. "Again, kicking myself that I forgot to buy a Lonely Planet Armenia before I came." Don't worry too much- go to the Artbridge bookstore/cafe at 20 Abovyan Street. I was in there this summer and they were selling copies of the wonderful Stone Garden Guide to Armenia and Karabakh. It's just as good if not better than LP and has a glossary of phrase. Hello- barev thank you- shnorhagalyem, but since that's too long most people just say 'merci'! please- khntrem anything- ban muh (heh I know you didn't mean that one)

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb