Waterfalls!


Advertisement
Antarctica » Temp
March 3rd 2006
Published: March 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Our HostelOur HostelOur Hostel

The only picture I currently have of our time at the waterfalls! More on the way! This was a great hostel with a gorgeous pool, table tennis and more!
Well we arrived late the other night from Sao Paulo to a really nice hostel just over the border in Argentina. We lucked out getting a ride here and whizzed through the border after skipping a huge line of people and cars, passport stamped we checked into our room (thankfully we reserved in advance).

The hostel here is pretty cool, reminds us of a summer camp with a huge common area containing pool tables, table tennis (I beat Jacky twice, she is not very good at table tennis at all) and chess. A huge pool, nice bar and questionable restaurant round off the delightful paradise just outside of Puerto Iguazu.

Yesterday we visited the falls, which were quite breathtaking, the hikes got me excited since I need to get ready for Patagonia, but unfortunately they were all flat, on paved paths and quite useless for any kind of preparation of what I have in store later this month.

There are so many waterfalls there I cant really explain the whole thing, best thing to do would be try to look up an aerial photo of the area which show a gigantic half circle collection of falls with the middle being the largest area they call el diablo (I think).

We rode in a zodiac out to the island that was created by the two large parts of the river and took lots of pictures, they also have a train there so people can access the middle of the river by doing a bit of a perimeter ride around the park. We came back to the hostel afterwards where we had an evening swim and tried out some wine before I beat her at table tennis yet again. After that we went into town to do some errands and have dinner, today we have a night bus back to Sao Paulo and tomorrow morning we bus to Agros dos Reis and take a schooner (hopefully) -or a ferry, out to Ilha Grande for some deserted beach time.

Sorry Kay, no sunset pictures as Jacky got a bit sun burnt and we had to head back late afternoon! Lots of other ones though!

I wanted to publish this before we headed back to Rio and Ihla Grande, but time and technology did not permit me to get my pictures up on here and now it has just been too long and I figured I should post something. Please stay tuned for loads of pictures from the beautiful waterfalls and all the lovely beaches on Ihla Grande. Ryan your coin collection is safe and sound, Jord your t-shirts that are to be sent home could not have arrived in my possession at a better time as I have no clean laundry... Jacky says the orange looks pretty on me.

Well it appears I made a slight error in that upon burning all the waterfall CDs onto a picture for Jacky (and freeing up space on my camera) I sent the only copies of the photos home with her. Thus no waterfall pictures until she emails me the ones she would like posted from back home!


Advertisement



12th March 2006

Well, you always did look pretty in orange. Guess it's a sad day now tho - with Jacky departing. Jason keep on trekking - hope all OK in Patagonia - such a desolate, barren area - but fantastic!

Tot: 0.41s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 30; qc: 126; dbt: 0.3352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb