Madi heads to Africa


Advertisement
Africa
August 24th 2014
Published: August 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Week 2- Africa

On the 8th of January I flew to Cape Town in South Africa for AUD$2179 economy. I spent most of the first day in my hotel room at the Camp Bay Resort, a 4 star resort which cost AUD$380 for 4 nights.

I woke early the next day to go to the boat which would take me to swim in a cage surrounded by sharks. They got me changed into a wet suit and soon enough I was in the water in a big metal cage with man eating sharks swimming as close as a metre away from me. It only went for a couple of hours and eventually we went back to land. The whole experience cost me AUD$1450.

The next day I went on an AUD$845 Aquib Safari to Kruger. I met up with the group and we drove to the campsite through the grasslands. We saw lots of animals along the way, and we finally arrived and got set up at one of the bases. There was a campfire in the night, and we all stayed up late getting to know one another and singing songs. When we woke up, the group was driven around in a jeep and were able to see lots of giraffes, lions and zebras, as well as some elephants and lots of birds. It was amazing to see the animals in their natural habitat without the interference of mankind. AS soon as we arrived back in Cape Town I was back in my hotel room and asleep before I knew it. Jet lag must have taken its toll.

On Friday I woke and went straight down to the Atlantic Ocean to go Seal Snorkelling. Animal Ocean Seal Snorkeling provided all equipment needed and cost AUD$650 per person. I was the only person aside from my guide, who didn’t speak excellent English, so it was hard to understand a lot of what he was saying. Thankfully, with the help of hand movements I was able to safely get kitted up and into the water. The seals were fantastically playful, and the fish were so colourful.



The flight from Cape Town to Kenya was tiring but I arrived in Jomo Kenyatta International Airport soon enough. It was short, and cost me just AUD$79 economy. In a small group of other tourists, I travelled by foot to one of the villages of the Maasai people, where I learnt about their culture and traditions. We watched on as they herded cattle, and I was very impressed when we watched them make their traditional beaded jewellery. We enjoyed the wildlife and got to know the friendly people of the Maasai tribe. The Kenya Tour cost AUD$189 per person, and was an extremely enlightening experience. We got back to Kenya and I spent the night at the 4 star Sarvore Hotel for $288 for 1 night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb