Tamale Take 3


Advertisement
Africa
August 3rd 2006
Published: August 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Paradise Part III ?Paradise Part III ?Paradise Part III ?

Too many beautiful places to keep track of how many we've seen. This is the view of the Volta River from where we stayted in Atimpoko.
I am so sick off this entry!!!!! This is my third attempt to do this blog. Both other ones involved me typing a ton only for everthing to get lost. Those of you have seen me type will understand my frustration.
Pete - great to hear from you - say hello to everyone for me.
Suze/ Gia - oh my Lord, whatever next!
Eric will write back to mom and dad in the next few days.

We're now in Northern Ghana after a brilliant time on the fabulous Yapei Queen. What a sight to see this old freight boat chugging over the largest artificial lake in the world, to open it's main cargo door like a giant tongue, onto the beach and the crowds of traders rushing down to her to make camp on the main deck. Within one hour the main deck had little homes on it made from ricketty crates and people were settled in cooking, lounging. We had spent a whole day waiting for the Yapei Queen in a futile quest to get one of the two cabins on board. As it was we got on early and clambered up onto the next deck where the dining
Hangin' on the ferryHangin' on the ferryHangin' on the ferry

This was not only where we ate and hung out but also my bed for the night. I've never walked so straight in my life as after a night on the table.
room was to become the best sleeping quarters on the boat, tables, wooden benches and floor in descending order of quality. We bought a couple of surprisingly comfortable sleeping mats and claimed a couple of spots. Up on the top deck were the cabins, the crews quarters and the breeziest, nicest place of all. I slept on the floor up here, with lightning bursting in the sky, lighting up the islands and the strange skeletal trees still there more than forty years after the Akosombo Dam created Lake Volta. I have christened the lake the 'Skeleton Sea'. That's going to be the title of my next CD.

Hurrah, the blighter published!!!
My sleep was interupted by a storm drenching me. I retreated downstairs to where a single light lit the scene of people sleeping everywhere, Eric on a table, all the other men, women and children on the benches and floor. I tiptoed around everyone and found a comfortable spot on the floor. Half an hour later I discovered why this spot was empty- I was sleeping in a depression on the floor that was now a healthy puddle! Despite how that sounds I got a good healthy four
Skeleton SeaSkeleton SeaSkeleton Sea

When the Volta Dam was built in 1966 it created the Volta Lake, the largest man-made lake in the world. The tree tops still rise up out of the water. Eerie at night and difficult to navigate. Quite unique though.
hours and woke to watch sunrise on the roof of the ship.
We met almost all of the other tourists on the boat, most of the crew and many of the Ghanian passengers. What a trip. Eric busted out the juggling, the watercolors andf the playing cards and quickly became a hit with everyone: Alice and Rosie, two volunteers working in hospitals, Peter, the volunteer whose family had come to visit him, mum, dad and little sister, Kirin the Austrian, who's travel companians were hating every minute of the trip, Joel and his two companians, who got one of the cabins, Jonathan, the Ships Navigator, with whom I talked late into the night then again throughout the journey, who helped us with Arrival in Yeji at midnight, the Captain, the son of whom we met in Akosombo.
Deep in the night Eric, me and a few others lay on the roof looking up at the milky way.
During the next day the Yapei called at six different tiny traditional villages and at each one people came running for this twice weekly highlight, picking up supplies and waving.
We finally docked and found great accomodation for the night, even cold beer,
The Yapei QueenThe Yapei QueenThe Yapei Queen

Well here she is, at least her bow. She would pull up to the shore let down her doors and choas would ensue. This is the view from the top deck as we pulled up to shore.
so we sat up till 2:00am talking and laughing.
What a brilliant time.
Now, off to Mole National Park.
We'll add more in about two or three days.
After Mole it's farewell Ghana et bonjour Burkino!!!
Au revoir,

mike and eric

Advertisement



3rd August 2006

bring back a BOXING WARRIOR
some of the worlds greatest boxers are from Africa.Find one and bring him to America.We will make him a CHAMPION.and we will also make lot's of MONEY.Be Safe.AL V
3rd August 2006

And the adventure continues.....
Great to hear from you guys again. This sounds like an amazing journey and a trip of a lifetime. These experiences you will be able to share and use to teach others about the world around us. I can't wait to see how you both incorportate this into your classrooms. I am with you on this trip, I will be on someone's net again soon if you haven't seen me or heard me again already. Look for me. Continue to explore, and enjoy. STay safe. Love all the photos. Looking forward to the next journals to come. Sorry it has taken me so long to send a comment back. love your friend Lucille
3rd August 2006

senses
As you two continue on your journey and send along the well written words that continue to feed the highlight reels in my mind, I do have to wonder what the temperature has been like on the latest leg of the journey--and the smells, bugs, critters and so on. I mean, if you're taking us all along on your journey--these details will truly help immerse me into the adventure even more. But seriously, the trip truly sounds amazing and you both seem to adapting seemlessly--whether or not this is an actual fact, I applaud you both. Paci--I am glad you have finally found your audience and the respect you deserve. I have a delightful image of the crowds behind you on the streets and the smirk you must have on your face on the boat with the captive audience. Continued blessings to you both.
3rd August 2006

Sounds superb!
But first....Michael, I hope you were referring to my looking like Popeye this week? Not to worry - it's getting much better! All is well, actually.....the heat notwithstanding. (ok, so I relented...Gia now has A/C in her bedroom!) Thanks for a crisp journalistic picture of the boat trip - really brings it all to life! Ahh...Eric and clownage. Sounds fun! "Skeletal Sea" is sure to be yet another amazing work of yours....I'm sure the trip will influence many of your songs-to-be :) Well, keep writing and texting - always love to hear from you guys! And happy to know you are not only staying safe and well, but having a fantastic time at every turn! Gia sends good wishes and says that you are in her thoughts....and that she will write some songs as soon as she finishes her summer reading assignments! ;) love, Suze and Gia
3rd August 2006

testing?
I commented, but it seems to not be showing up - possibly didn't hit "Submit Comment"? Sigh. Nice read about the boat ride, sounds interesting and fun. As always, wishes for you to be well and safe. Suzanne
4th August 2006

Hi!
Hey Mr. Allen and Mr. Paci! I think this blog is greats. Its really nice to hear from you guys, and hear about all of your adventures. Anyways, good luck with the rest of your trip! Love, Ariana :]
4th August 2006

Mingabu! Odze ku! Wayzo! Hello!!
Hi guys, what's new? [Bailey] I've been having a great summer! I'm taking an Ichthyology class at science school! ICHTHYOLOGY!!!!! WOO-HOO!!! OH YEAH!! ICHTHYOLOGY!!!!!... and by the way, If you didn't know, ichthyology is the study of fish. We've gone fishing every day, and we actually caught a scup that wee could keep and eat! We learned how to field dress it, cut it up, and cook it, then we got to eat... FOR BREAKFAST!!! HOOHAHA!~! We went to a small bamboo forest on the Cape during one of the classes, and used machete’s [did I spell that right?!] to cut down some of the trees, and then made real fishing poles from scratch... no store bought parts! we caught two lobsters in a lobster pot, and we're going to learn how to cook them. We actually caught three, but one was too small so we had to let go. OOOH YEAH, and we did the weird experiment with minnows. We caught a pregnant female and a male, and gently took the eggs out of the female, and laid them in a glass tray with some water. We didn't have to kill the female, but unfortunately, we, kinda' had to sort of... maybe...um... well, we had to kill the guy minnow...BUT IT WAS FOR A GOOD REASON... i think. Well, anyway, we took out the sperm and put in the dish with the eggs. Then we watched it and added a little water every day, and we grew fish!!!!!!!!!!!!! Then there's sailing. It's a long time, but it's fun. It's actually from 2:00 to 4:30. Steve and I have moved up to the blue fleet in the championship line. The championship line has three fleets. White, which is the lowest fleet[steve and i did that last year], Blue, which is obviously the middle fleet, and you can do it for two years, and then there's Red, which is the oldest fleet of sailors. For our yacht club, and three others, we have something called the Unkie Cup. There are four regattas over all. Two out of Two that Steve Has won 1st place over all out of all of the Blue fleeters, and he actually got 1st over all in one race out of 47 boats!!!!! And in one race I actually beat someone! YAY!!!!! WHOOPEEE!!!! OH YEAH!!!!!! GO ME!!!!!! I got 8th over all! ............. but then I came in last in the entire fleet[Sad Face]. Now I'm at Izzy's house, for a 2 night sleep over! WooHOOOYEAHWOOHOOOWHOOPS!! - did I just make that one word?! Kylie slept over one night, but anyway, it was really fun, and Izzy had her B-day party!! Well, here's the B-day girl herself!!!!! BYE!!! P.S. I LIKE CHEESE!! AND cHIckeN!! O YEAH!!! WOOHOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!SO DOES bOB!!!!!! [Izzy] My Summer is going well and I wish I could be traveling all over Africa... my days are drama camp with Kylie and the girl down the road, and I just wanted to say I’m following you journey…Isabelle and Bailey
4th August 2006

Yapei Queen
Hello, Your adventure of the Yapei Queen sounds amaxing. Glad to hear that youare both doing well and having a fabulous time. Mike the description of the boat and the entire trips was great. I could see and visualize the two of you seeing and doing as described. This all sounds so great. Waiting ofr more amazing photos too. Continue to enjoy and stay safe. Eric, they are adding another 4th grade to the Brooks as of yesterday. Guess where I am going next week???? Any comment.....Keep the amazing posts coming. love your friend Lucille
6th August 2006

Gabrielle's Birthday - Lisa's Birthday
Quick personal note. Eric we are soliciting input for 2 very important birthdays in October. Gabrielle in San Diego - Lisa in Boston. Any thoughts? Spectacular visuals as I read the descripton of your adventures. Thank you for taking the time to share with all of us. Dad / Gabe
6th August 2006

Yay!
Yay! I just read what you wrote in reply to my comments. I thought that other people had to approve them. It's good to get things figured out! By the way, I can't think of many good comment titles. Sorry that I don't write much. Last weekend I spent half the day at the pond, and the other half at Izzy's, and all of sunday I was at her house. During the week I have camp, which is really tiring (It's longer than school!) So I don't really have many chances to write, or read for that matter, but camp will be over this week, and I promise I'll write more! Julie and Izzy and I (haha! Good grammer, huh?) went to Nick's birthday party today. Izzy and I played with bouncy balls that we got, afterwords, only one went into the neighbors yard, and her dad almost ran away with my paddleball. Isabelle and I are also in a tufts camp together. We're doing a play during camp. Isabelle plays Hansella (the female version of Hansel, from Hansel and Gretel, though I call her Han Solo) and I play Mad Hatter Thug 1, in a mixed up fairy tale about the big bad wolf (a.k.a. Lewisa Likenthrope), and whether she's guilty or innocent of blowing down the home of the three little pigs. It's really cool. Isabelle has to talk in a swedish accent, which she's good at, only she rehearses it with Gretel 24/7 and you have no idea how annoying it is, to hear; "Yaya!" and "Vell, Sintia," all day long! IT DRIVES ME TOTALLY BANANAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Well, I got to go. Keep writing! -Kylie
6th August 2006

Tamale
Isn't a tamale a type of food? I remember Izzy writing 'If you give a Tiger a Tamale' in 4th grade? Or am I just spelling it wrong? Sorry. -Kylie

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb