Trip To Mekete - Day 6


Advertisement
Africa
December 15th 2011
Published: December 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Book Recommendation:

My sister, Laurie told me about a new book out called, “Little Princes”. It is a story of a young guy from the States who goes to Nepal to volunteer at an orphanage. He is dealing with the children who were unknowingly sold to child traffickers in the 90’s to the Moaist Rebels during Nepal’s Civil War. It’s not only about his adventure at the orphanage. It is also about his attempts to reunite these lost children with their families in remote villages across Nepal. I am not doing anything nearly as brilliant as he did, but hey...

What an amazing book! He tells his story of volunteering so well. I saw so many parallels between his story and mine. So many things I could identify with. I raced through the book this week and I highly recommend it for anyone who loves a good story. Go out and put it under the tree for someone you love. Tell them it’s from me!



Okay, the day did not go as planned....

We were up early to interview that woman that I told you about on Day 3 of this trip. Well, to make a long story short, she didn’t do the interview, she got angry with us and, in true fairy tale form she banished us from her kingdom. We didn’t need her interview for the show (which is okay because we have everything we need for the show) BUT she wouldn’t allow us to go to the National Park!

Things here are so different than at home. There seems to be a fear of one another to a point. People fear authority. Authority fears the people and everyone is too polite to stand up to one another...

Anyways, after we were banished from her office and her district, we went back to our hotel (not with our tails in between our legs), we packed up and decided to hit the road for home. Before we did that, I went across the street and took some photos of the maize mill that operates throughout the day. It was quite interesting how the kernels of maize come to the mill, they soak the kernels and then run them through a machine that takes off the husk and the tip of the kernel. The husk and the tip of the kernel are used in the food for the pigs, so nothing goes to waste. The kernels are then run through another machine and the maize meal (flour) is made. The people drop off their maize and before you know it, they have flour to cook with... some things are efficient here!

After the maize mill tour, we hit the road to Njombe where we stopped for lunch. Just outside of Njombe there is a tea plantation where there is nothing but beautiful green plants for miles. We stopped long enough for me to get some pictures. I have never seen a tea plantation before.

We have stopped for the night in Iringa. I think I am catching a cold from being in the rain and dampness up in Mekete... I will try to sleep this off as I don’t want to be sick in Cape Town over the holidays.

Tomorrow night, I will be sleeping in my own bed. Yippee!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Remnants of Maize MealRemnants of Maize Meal
Remnants of Maize Meal

Also known as corn flour.


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb