Lunch at the British High Commission:


Advertisement
Africa
December 9th 2011
Published: December 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was our final day at the Annual Volunteer Conference. It was held at the British Council, here, in Dar, and it was a morning of debate and discussion about doing development differently. There were quite a few speakers from NGOs, government, etc., all taking about what has been done in the past and where do we go in the future. It was quite a good morning.

We were invited by Diane Corner, the British High Commissioner for lunch. There were approximately 100 of us. I figured if the place was good enough for Charles and Camilla, chances are it would be fine for me... and besides now that I am on the official mailing list for the Tour of the Residences of High Commissioners, I need to see all and compare. (Okay, I made that part up, there is no mailing list!)

Anyways, the luncheon was wonderful. We had lasagne, grilled fish, salad, baked vegetables, cocktails, and for dessert? Ice cream and fresh fruit... Now dessert may not sound impressive, but imagine if you will, eating ice cream in Africa.... There aren’t ice cream parlours on any street corners, in any remote village, and the volunteers were so excited. There is ice cream in Dar but no one really eats it because we don’t know how many times it has thawed and re-froze... best to stay away from things like that!

The day started out rainy, but by lunch-time the sun was out and the humidity came with it. I started the day out in a grey short-sleeved shirt and by lunch, I was wearing a two-toned shirt... grey and very grey... thanks to my sweat. Normally, I would be embarrassed, and maybe I should be... But here, you just accept it and move on. Plus it does make people laugh... and you know how I love to make people laugh!

I realize that for the last little while, I have been to some amazing places and events. Who ever thought that, as a volunteer, I would be at official residences, meeting a prince, and seeing and experiencing what I have been able to see and do in just 5 months?

Don’t worry, my head is not getting any bigger than it already is... seriously, it is 24 inches around. That is a big melon! You know how the Universe can slam you right back
British High Commissioner Diane CornerBritish High Commissioner Diane CornerBritish High Commissioner Diane Corner

Welcoming us to the luncheon
into reality in a moment’s notice? You can be riding an emotional high and then something happens that reminds you where you really are in the order of things... The reality came when I got home from my luncheon... That is my next blog entry... and it’s a funny story!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Tessa Most SpeakingTessa Most Speaking
Tessa Most Speaking

Tessa is British. She spoke on behalf of all British volunteers.
Making Myself At HomeMaking Myself At Home
Making Myself At Home

If you look closely, the sweat is starting to move in on me... Trust me, it got a lot worse. LOL
Les Fry & Claire DaltonLes Fry & Claire Dalton
Les Fry & Claire Dalton

2 Brits who were quite proud to be there... Just like I felt the night before.


9th December 2011

Wau to tease the next blog!
You can take the boy out of promos, but you can never take the promos out of the boy! We all miss you, but are glad you are having such amazing experiences! Jeff

Tot: 0.379s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.3027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb