The Road To Morogoro


Advertisement
Africa
July 25th 2011
Published: July 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, July 9, 2011: Happy Birthday Tony!

The private bus picked us up at the Econo Lodge and took us to the Dar es Salaam Bus Station.
WOW!!!! So many people and such a sense of organized chaos. Yet, everyone is polite, courteous, and welcoming to the 15 volunteers who have a look of confusion in their eyes.

We boarded the public bus with our Kiswahili coaches, Benjamin and Pepe, leading the way. It was a four hour bus ride to Morogoro due to traffic. No air conditioning, just open windows to get the wind whipping through with fresh air. Most of us fell asleep, listened to I-Pods, and read British newspapers to pass the time. In Africa, women are not offered the seats on the bus. Men sit down and very few offer up their seats . My mother taught me well so I offered up my seat to a woman at the halfway point. I would have offered sooner but I wanted to make sure it wasn’t a cultural thing and I would be offending all involved. I stood for 2 hours as a crazy bus driver got us to the convent in Morogoro.

Yes, the convent….



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



25th July 2011

Caskets
Hmmm. Nice touch.
26th July 2011

Fun Travels
Those buses looks like something from a Ken Kesey novel. You sure you're not taking "Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test"? Love the blogs.

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb