Tanzania - Day 7


Advertisement
Africa
July 6th 2011
Published: July 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Oh, how plans can change. 1 a.m. this morning awoke by serve pain lower left side front and back--belly find, stool find, Constant pain with short sharp increases. Was not able to go back to sleep. Could not find a comfortable position. I can't remember the last time I felt pain like this. We left for an Arusha hostipal run by the Lutherns at 8 a.m. A very long, very uncomfortable ride. Did get better once we got to pavement. Pokea called head, ADS staff waiting at hostipal, they had already openned file and had appoitment. Unlike U.S., not alot of forms to see a doctor. I did not sign one document while there. 1 hour and 28 minutes to check in, vitals taken, see a very nice doctor, get meds. Cost to see doctor $6, cost of meds $3. Doctor thinks it's a kidney stone. Gave me pain killers to get home. I hope they work. Can't read the handwriting on the container to know what I' m taking.

Couple observations: The lack of pavement except on main roads even in Arusha. (500,000 population) Parking lots, side roads, car wash (yes car wash is dirt). Pull into a gas station and the only pavement/cement is the island for the pumps. No sidewalk - road is sidewalk. Lack of trash along roadside in parks. I saw one plastice bottle the entire time. Not the same in U.S. national parks.

Check in on the weekend and I will have a summary when (hopefully) I feel better.

I'm in the day room at the hotel in Arusha. I have four hours to shower pack and get ready to leave for Kilimanjaro IA. The meds have not helped yet.

Ann, please coordinate with mom and please make an appoitment with Dr. Munoz for the afternoon of the 7th when I get in. No later than the 8th. If Munoz not available then with someone ASAP.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb