A New Adventure begins tomorrow!


Advertisement
Africa
November 7th 2009
Published: November 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone!

Mark - I loved your message...it made me a little emotional actually...but thank you so much for that! It made me feel really good. And yes! I'm impressed you got all the way through that without even one swear word!

So...
We've finished our volunteering. Yesterday after we were at Junction, we went back up to the office. We pretty much just played with the kids for about 4 hours. It was fun, but also really sad at the same time, knowing it was the last time we would ever see them...
We took A TONNE of pictures though, and got the names of our little girls so we could sponsor them. Mine is Jane Mueni.
Friday night we put a couple hours into packing. It was NOT easy! And I'm not looking forward to living out of a suitcase (backpack) for the next two months!!
This morning, we decided to make Margaret, Maggie, and we invited Kilonzi over for a Canadian breakfast. We made them french toast and used the maple syrup we brought. It turned out really well and they really seemed to like it! (Although they've had it many times before...I guess we werent the first volunteers to think of it).

It was really hard to say goodbye to Margaret and Maggie. We gave them our gifts for them...and said our goodbyes. I really think we are going to miss it there. We certainly got attached to some of the kids, and definitely to Maggie and Margaret...
We've already had the teacher at the school call me to ask when we can come back to Kenya and teach again!


We took a cab to the Silver Springs hotel and have spent the day by the pool. It's been amazing! Gorgeous day! Not a cloud in the sky...lathered on the 30 SPF bout 5 times this time...

We are just taking it easy tonight, and practicing packing the best we can, so we can fit everything...

Tomorrow morning at 8 am we meet up with our group!! The first stop is Tanzania. We spend I think 3 or 4 days in Zanzibar....should be pretty nice! I really hope the weather stays nice especially for the beach days!! 😊

Im not sure if we'll be able to get to a computer as much as we have been...but I will try to update as often as I can....
I'm a little nervous about the camping... I have not yet seen a single snake (which are my biggest fear in the world) in Africa...and I hope it stays that way. But I am still going to be petrified sleeping in a tent. I think I'm going to miss that wooden-board of a bunk bed at Margarets house!!!

I added a couple of pics to my last post and will add a few to this one as well!!

Bye everyone!
xoxo
-Denise



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Class 5 and Class 6 - last dayClass 5 and Class 6 - last day
Class 5 and Class 6 - last day

after soccer baseball


9th November 2009

he is good
That Mark sure has a way with words doen't he. (He stole the words I was going to say this time, so these will have to do. Have fun on your safari part of the trip. Dennis T

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb