Shangani Night


Advertisement
Africa
October 20th 2009
Published: October 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

BedBedBed

My bug net so artfully put together...
My second week in Africa is amazing. Yes it is hot and yes the work is hard but it is becoming more and more rewarding the more time I spend with the monkeys. I miss my friends and family a bit but I think that it is natural. I am getting used to the creepy crawlers. At least the regular ones we see. The mangos are coming in on the trees and soon we will be able to pick and eat the mangos (along with the figs) before the monkeys grab them at least.

I am really happy about all the people I get to meet. I am meeting people from all over the world. Some of the countries I can remember off the top of my head are Switzerland, Belgium, Denmark, France, UK, Canada, Other Parts of Africa, and of course us few weirdos from the US. I have made some "friends" but its really hard to open yourself to get to know one really well when they are leaving soon. It is really nice to be able to make some really valuable friends with the people that are here for a longer period of time like myself! 😊 I have had some really fun times though.

We had a Shangani dance night on Thursday and the workers and Maggie and Rachel danced and sang around a fire. It was a really cool oppertunity and it was a small look at the culture that the workers live in every day. Life here is extremely simple compared to home. The workers live simply and are happy. Rachel has a baby named Alex that hangs out with us in the cottage. She is the happiest baby I have ever met! Really Really cute as well. Maggie speaks English more so then Rachel so some translation may sometimes be needed.

My cabin is becoming more and more like my little home. I put up my bug net and hung some rope around the walls to make a mock closet. It is my little home. Suprisingly I have had to deal with few critters in my cabin...also a plus. The walking and working is getting a lot easier and I am not getting lost anymore. A BIG plus. It cools down nice in the evening but is really hot in the day time. If I shower right after work my shampoo and conditioner are sometimes too hot to put directly on my head.

The country is beautiful and I cannot imagine being anywhere else. (Some times on those hot days (110 F - Or HOTTER) I do pretend I am working in the Swiss Alps. I miss you all! Thank you for keeping up with me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



20th October 2009

WOW
What kind of critters are showing up in your cabin? Love the photos!
21st October 2009

Critters
Well there are tons of Spiders, snakes, and scorpions are the common critters that run around! I am lucky I only had a spider in my cabin once!
21st October 2009

RE: Shanghai nights
Jen, I am enjoying your blogs. You are certainly having an experience that will be with you for all of your life. Are you sure the dog is named Candye like my name? Shoud I be flattered or not. Your mom has her dog named the same as my sweet little grandaughter Lexi, I think we seem to like the same names in our families! My grandson, was born 10/16/09, on my birthday, weighing in at 9# 1oz, with lots of dark hair. Of course i think he is the sweetest most handsome baby ever! Tiffani is doing well and they are at home now. I am learning how to get around using trains and the tube(underground system) in London. It is a unique experience for me and I hope to see a lot more in the next few weeks. I have seen the Thames river, Tower of London, Big Ben, and spent a few hours in Regency Park. I hope this next week to see the Bristish museum and Buckingham palace. Windsor castle is quite close to Tiffani's home so I will see that too. Take care and keep those blogs coming. Love, Candye
23rd October 2009

Great job of putting up your mosquito net Honey, your little home looks so cute and organized. You (as expected) have made it be a reflection of you. Heard that a bug got in to see you anyway. Are you getting used to the 100+ temps, I can't imagine, it's not even summer there yet. Love to see some more animal and plant pictures, and pictures of the countryside. Take care of yourself and don't let the bed bugs bite (whoops . . . too late). Love you. Dad
6th November 2009

It's old one night stand
Jen, It's fun keeping up with your adventure. I'm proud of you little girl. Keep up the good work and I'll see you next summer in Montana. Lerry
29th November 2009

Jennifer, You totally amaze me...I am so proud of you and what you are doing! You have so much to give...Africa is lucky to have you. I bet the monkeys keep you busy! How many are there and how many are you responsible for? What do you do for them? Adventures into town sounds interesting... Anything like the U.S.? Miss you! Continue your blogs...interesting! Love ya! Sheri Reitz

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb