Last week in Upington


Advertisement
Africa
June 25th 2009
Published: June 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm leaving tomorrow evening on an overnight bus to Cape Town where i will be staying for 5 days! I'm excited to explore Cape Town and hopefully see some pretty cool stuff.

Tuesday was my last day working at Oasis. The kids made me a necklace, a bag, and a little beaded purse.. it's all so cute. I've worn the necklace out twice already. I went to see couple movies this week with some of my friends that I've met here. I'm going to miss them. I go to this little cafe here in town and have coffee and read occasionally. I'll definitely miss that little cafe!

Willem, the dance teacher at Oasis asked me more of his questions Tuesday and I went to say goodbye to his father. It's kind of fun when he asks me questions. He asks me akinda of stuff just to see how I answer. He likes to learn from people of other cultures so he enjoys talking with people. He asks me things like "what is the american dream? if you are a bad person what happens when you die? do you believe in life after death? will you teach your little girl about God? do you believe in love at first site? what age do you want to get married? what are your goals? why do you admire? if you had 12 seconds to talk to your worst enemy what would you say?". His questions make me think a lot, but it's good. I have learned a lot about myself this way! 😊

I went to a support groupmeeting Wednesday and met 5 members who are living with HIV. We talked a lot about the stigma and things that they go through. One woman in the group has been treated very badly by her family since she disclosed her status to them. They make her use her own bowl, her own, spoon, her own cup, and they ask her to sleep in a different area and sometimes ask her to leave the home. Her sister gets drunk and goes around the neighborhood telling the community about her sister's status, trying to get them to treat her badly as well. Her sister also physically abuses her and other members of the support group take her to the hospital when this happens. This has been going on for 3 years. It was terribly sad to hear the woman talk with us about what she goes through. I knew the stigma was bad in some areas but I didn't think about what it would be like for your own family to treat you badly. My family is very important to me.. so I can only imagine how bad this treatment makes the woman feel. Other members of the group talked about how community members will whisper things about them when they walk by and move to the other side of the street. 😞

I am running out of time, I'll update more in Cape Town.. my hostel has internet.

Advertisement



29th June 2009

Great Expereience
Well sweetie, trip coming to an end. I'm sure you have learned so much and will use that knowledge upon your return home. Can't wait to see you. I know your Mom can't wait. It sounds like you've made a good impression on everyone and they in turn to you. Knowledge is something you can't lose unless your my age (sometimes). Love you lots. Did you use every empty space on Dabs the Bear? See you soon. Love, Nana and Pop pop
30th June 2009

What movies did you see?? I hope you have fun in Cape Town! We are all counting down the days :) I got to see mama again today! She said she had just gotten off the phone with you. Well it sounds like you are meeting some amazing people. Can't wait until the 4th! I got your letter today :)

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb