Adventuritas


Advertisement
Africa
February 27th 2009
Published: February 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I know, I know.....this time I've been mournfully remiss in my blogging duties. I don't want to say I have a "been there; done that" attitude about this trip but I've almost run out of things to write about. That, and spending a good deal of time online "Skpe-ing" with Wayne, not to mention studying my "nalgas"off, has led me to this day when I realize I owe you all at least one more dose of beautiful Costa Rica before I return home.

I've had quite a few "adventuritas" here in Samara. No big ones this time (no ultralight flying over the ocean, zip-lining through the rain forest, or volcano-watching). I choses to stay close by in Samara, partly to save money and partly because I just love the beach so much. My mini-adventures included milder things such as getting a pedicure on the front porch with the use of the mop bucket, searching out Mel Gibson's house two beaches to the north, motor scootering through a river, and learning to cook Costa Rican food (oh yes it is TOO and adventure--it's ME we're talking about!).

I also had a wonderful experience visiting Xinia's church on Saturday night. It was the same, yet so very different, than First UMC Austin! Paul is Paul, no matter the language. Visitors still have to stand up and be welcomed. Sermons are sermons and joyous hearts are joyous hearts. It was very moving to feel God's presence as I watched all the people in the room. But it is an Evangelical church and let's just say. . . it lives up to its name! But the thing I found so amusing was how the Costa Rican culture slipped into the mix. There were kids eating potato chips during the service, a dog wandered into the church without much notice, and when the baby in front of me started crying, he wasn't whisked off the the cry room, oh no....the mom just whipped it out and started nursing during the sermon.

And let's not forget that learning Spanish at this level is an adventure in itself! The day we had to talk about "sustainable development" which I couldn't even talk about in English, let alone Spanish, I thought I wasn't going to be able to go on! I've learned (ok, TRIED to learn) more was to conjugate verbs than I can count. But
Monkey TalkMonkey TalkMonkey Talk

He reminded me a little of Wayne for some reason!
yet, I'm not there yet. Please, please, please all of you Spanish-speakers out there, NO MAS INGLES! I need to return to Texas and continue to immerse myself. It's so possible in Austin--I just need your help doing it! Today is my graduation day and I have my speech in my head. Wish me buen suerte!








Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

$8 for a Pedicure$8 for a Pedicure
$8 for a Pedicure

Even though she used the mop bucket, it was the best I've ever had!
Iglesia EvangelicaIglesia Evangelica
Iglesia Evangelica

You might not be able to tell (I didn't want to be rude with a flash) but this is the point in the service when people went up to the front to confess their sins.
Playa CarilloPlaya Carillo
Playa Carillo

This is my favorite beach in the area. Tranquila!
My Three Mamas Ticas at Barracuda RestaurantMy Three Mamas Ticas at Barracuda Restaurant
My Three Mamas Ticas at Barracuda Restaurant

From left to right: Xinia (this year), Maricela (2005), and Juanita (2006).


27th February 2009

Fantastic!
Awesome, Jolynn. I can't wait to have you make Gallo Pinto for us at the next Women's retreat! The pictures are great - as always. Can't wait to hear all the tales.
27th February 2009

Wow!
Sorry....can't honor the NO MAS INGLES....just dong good to type this in without errors. The pictures are beautiful...I was especially drawn to the sunset...and of course, the food ~ accounting for my fluffy attitude about life. Graduate magna...hope to see you soon. ~c
27th February 2009

Miss You
Hola Chica, Mi espanol no es bueno pero trataria escribir en espanol para ti. Ojala que tu viage fue y es bien. Mira que si. Yo tengo Skype - entonces debemos hablar con Skype. Quiero vistarte en Austin pero es muy dificil con una esposa y dos ninos. Vamos a la Florida para visitar a mis padres. Supongo que tu puedes visitar a Los Angeles. Estas bien y vaya con dios. Jeffrey
28th February 2009

Thanks for sharing your adventure!
2nd March 2009

Always love your blogs!
Jolynn, Thanks for the blogging, even if only twice this time, I feel like I have been to Samara over the years. Love the pictures and the flowers on your big toe!!
2nd March 2009

How exciting!!! Can't wait to hear all about it!
4th March 2009

Mmmmmmm new dishes to try!
I finally was able to check your blog, course you are sitting right next to me! So happy you were able to experience Costa Rica, but we are sooooooo happy you are home!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb