The stupid police took my car!


Advertisement
Africa
January 13th 2009
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I'm in Africa! It still hasn't really hit me though. Once we go outside the school (which is in the middle of nowhere, a suburb outside of Joberg) I will probably feel it. The plane ride wasn't bad. I watched House, The Simpsons, drank some wine, slept with a quick stop in Dakar, Senegal. When we arrived about 19 hours later we were met by Wilson, who was supposed to drive us to the school. Unfortunately, he parked in a no parking zone and the police towed his car. He walked toward us waving his arms and said, "The stupid police took my car!" We had to pay 600 rand ($60) to get it back. By the time we got to the boarding house it was past 9pm. The house is cool, there are plenty of rooms. One side of our house is used for band practice which is odd so there are students walking in and out of the house. I met my co-op, who was pretty nice. Tonight we are going to the mall to get cell phone minutes and go food shopping. We just experienced our first African RAIN STORM which was like a giant flood. It was lightening and thundering and the lights went on and off about 10 times. Supposedly that's common. Otherwise the weather is gorgeous! Warm and sunny.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb