On to the Safari


Advertisement
Africa
June 14th 2008
Published: June 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

School PathSchool PathSchool Path

My school
Hey everyone,

Well it is time to change gears folks, as my time with the volunteer project is now at an end. On Monday I begin the next phase of the adventure, the 46 day safari kicking off in Uganda and heading down to Victoria Falls.

I've had a great time here (even with the flu) and have learned so much about the Tanzanian culture and the problems associated with Western development of Africa as a whole. I'm not going to go off on any random tangents today. :-) Suffice to say that to truly succeed in the future I think western aid organizations must take a new approach to be more effective in helping UP African nations not simply handing out to them. The old adage of giving a person a fish versus teaching them how to.

Overall this month has zipped by. It is quite hard to believe that I've been away for nearly 40 days already. I leave the project at a stage where it's complete in a rough sense. The remaining members of the group will spend the next two weeks finishing off the toilet block, and continue with building the foundation for a
Opening CeremoniesOpening CeremoniesOpening Ceremonies

The day began with a flourish of banana leaves and little hands
new kitchen at another school. It will be tough leaving everyone, especially my class, but the trip must go on.

I wrote a fairly long message last time, so this time I'll just let the photos do the talking. Enjoy!

Take care everyone, hope you are all having excellent summers.

Michael


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Opening Ceremonies SetupOpening Ceremonies Setup
Opening Ceremonies Setup

Preparing to dance... literally.
Project SiteProject Site
Project Site

How it all began
Rocking the BeardRocking the Beard
Rocking the Beard

With the kids
My ClassMy Class
My Class

Actually about half. We couldn't get them to stop rushing the camera.
They're C-C-Crazy!They're C-C-Crazy!
They're C-C-Crazy!

They're delightful... Yes, that they are.
The TeamThe Team
The Team

Part of the volunteer team
JapatiJapati
Japati

My meager attempt at creating a japati with Jackie our local cook.
TrekkingTrekking
Trekking

One of many jungle adventures
Zanzibar BeachZanzibar Beach
Zanzibar Beach

Ahhhhhhh relaxing...
Project as I left itProject as I left it
Project as I left it

I'm not here for the entire duration, but this was the project as I left it. Builders and teachers included.


Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb