The Beginning of the End


Advertisement
Africa
November 9th 2005
Published: November 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I saw Eli yesterday, he is fine, everytime I see him it becomes so clear that we are living really different lives here in Ghana. I love to see the kids in his group talk to eachother, because they have now been together as long as us. But they are a "they" and we are an "us" and it's too late to change that.

I went to Winneba yesterday. The name means "Windy Bay" and it's obvious why. The beach stretches along the campus and moves on for miles. When you look out to the horizon you see nothing, because nothing is there. I half expected to see Cozumel. But the ocean's not like that here, not calm and clear like Mexico. It's harsh, and crashes down on you knocking you off your feet. It's smart too, always sneaking up and soaking you.

I hear TO's out for good. TO should come here and humble himself, what else could he possibly be looking for? Do you think he'll go to the Raiders? The kid from Oakland thinks so.

It's getting hotter. I wake up in the night every couple of hours drenched. My fan is good and strong but it's not enough. The night's used to be cool.

I'm moving on Saturday to the Art Haus with Anna and Ben. The place is great, open areas outside for lazing -- or writing. There is a great tree and painted benches. It will be nice to finally settle in somewhere and not be thinking about the next place I have to go. The next place I have to go now is home. I'm going to be traveling to Winneba every Monday to work with this poet named Kwakuvi Azwansu. His first name means Wednesday born youngest child and his second name means, its about time. Ewe names are like that, Ewe words are like that, packed with so much -- heavy handed -- but he's not. He's lofty and strange and I like him a lot.

So there you have it. As always, more to come

Becca

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb