Being assertive


Advertisement
Africa
March 24th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

One of the tasks that the College asked me to do when I first arrived, was to support Mengesha, the HIV and AIDS Coordinator in running an Anti HIV and AIDS Club. We had done plenty of administrative work, e.g. writing an action plan, but all at once there was some activity. Menegsha organised for the local Health Centre to come to the College to do Voluntary Counselling and Testing.

One of the activities that I was keen to do, was to run gender and assertiveness workshops for female students - partly because they tend not to contribute in lessons and also a lot of students had to drop out of College last year due to unplanned pregnancies. I decided that the only way to do what I wanted was to link it to the Anti HIV and AIDS Club. I ran a workshop on Saturday for female Peer Educators from the Club. Only eight turned up, but it went very well. They were good fun and joined in all the activities with enthusiasm.

The plan now is to run a series of workshops, starting with first year students, with the Peer Educators assisting me.



Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

Peer EducatorsPeer Educators
Peer Educators

The participants.


Tot: 0.826s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 11; qc: 70; dbt: 0.7187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb