Chilling by the Lake


Advertisement
Zimbabwe's flag
Africa » Zimbabwe
May 14th 2013
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Camp01 Camp01 Camp

Our campsite as seen from a distance.
Geo: -16.8703, 28.5864

We all woke up early this morning. We started the day with a coffee while enjoying our peaceful surroundings and looking for animals. During the night I could hear hippos and there was no way that I would be walking to the toilet block in the middle of the night for fear of running into one!

Paul and Francois immediately prepared their fishing equipment and then they were off. I slowly followed them and took notice of the various animal scats and spoors. The water in the lake was not very clear. As I walked along the shore to meet up with the guys, I noticed small sized crocodiles ahead of me. When I became close to the crocodiles, they would slip into the water and I would hear the 'plop' as they entered the water. It was a bit scary – what if there were crocodiles in the bushes and I am in between them and the water? I put that thought out of my mind and continued walking along the shore.

There were slight waves lapping the shore of the lake. The guys were fishing on a thin point. I sat on the rocks and put my feet
02 Lake02 Lake02 Lake

The campsites on Lake Kariba.
in the water and watched them fish for a while. Francois was then lucky and caught a large bream – this put a big smile on his face.

I then walked back to the campsite. I sat in the shade of a large tree by the water and read my book and magazines and had a little nap. Paul and Francois returned a few hours later with a few large crayfish like creatures. They were very excited about their catch. The crayfish were put in a bucket with water. The guys were still deciding what to do with them.

As we made lunch, we saw a troop of baboons running through the camp. The baboons didn't look very friendly – we would have to be careful with our food. Once they realise we have food they will destroy our campsite.

I spent the afternoon having a nap and reading in the shade. In the distance, the opposite direction to wear the guys were fishing I saw two elephants. I gathered my camera and video camera and slowly walked towards them. They were by the shore drinking water. Between the elephants and me there were a herd of impalas and a
03 Spoor03 Spoor03 Spoor

The spoor of some type of antelope, probably impala.
troop of baboons enjoying the water. I watched them for a while and then walked back and sat again in my chair and enjoyed the serenity.

As the sun set, we made a fire and prepared our dinner. We spent the evening enjoying the peacefulness of the lake. Although, every now and then the hippos made their presence known by making their loud noises.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

04 Spoor04 Spoor
04 Spoor

The spoor of a baboon - which looks like a human hand print.
05 Shells05 Shells
05 Shells

Lots of tiny shells on the shore of the lake.
06 Fishing06 Fishing
06 Fishing

Paul and Francois fishing on the shore of the lake.
07 Web07 Web
07 Web

A big spider web.
08 Waves08 Waves
08 Waves

Small waves on the lake.
09 Lake09 Lake
09 Lake

Looking towards our campsite.
10 Flying Away10 Flying Away
10 Flying Away

A large flock of birds flying away as Paul and Francois walk along.
11 Dung11 Dung
11 Dung

Hyena dung that has gone white due to the bones that it eats.
12 Fishing12 Fishing
12 Fishing

Paul and Francois trying to catch tiger fish.
14 Spoor14 Spoor
14 Spoor

Spoor from a bird.
15 Me15 Me
15 Me

I am standing by the shore of the lake.
16 Us16 Us
16 Us

Paul and I standing by the lake.
17 Dung17 Dung
17 Dung

This looks like bird poo.
18 Proud18 Proud
18 Proud

Francois is very proud of his catch - a large bream.
19 Dung19 Dung
19 Dung

I think this poo is from a crocodile.
20 Spoor20 Spoor
20 Spoor

Hippo spoor leading from the lake into the bush.
21 21
21

The chair where I spent quite a few hours chilling/reading/sleeping.
22 Catch of the Day22 Catch of the Day
22 Catch of the Day

Paul with one of the crayfish like creatures he caught.


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb