Return to Jo'burg


Advertisement
Zimbabwe's flag
Africa » Zimbabwe » Victoria Falls
August 4th 2009
Published: September 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I left Zimbabwe today. I got up early and had my final breakfast watching birds flying over the national park and animals drinking at the waterhole. I lugged my rucksack up to reception and then sat with Rone waiting for our transfer. We both agreed that it has been a blissfully relaxing trip but far too short! The coach arrived to take us to the airport. I had a surprise as I stepped off the coach. A voice called out 'Anna! How are you? You like Zimbabwe then?' I turned and saw the same porter who had helped me with my bags a few days ago. I am astounded he remebered me. I know it's a small airport but still, enough people must come through it everyday. I certainly wouldn't remember everyone's name!
Getting back to Jo'berg was exhausting. Despite the lack of security checks coming into the country, on the way out I had all my bags scanned, my passport checked about five times, I had to walk through the metal detector, then take off my shoes and have those scanned. I finally made it through to the departure lounge and settle din for a long wait.
Our plane arrived and literally pulled up by the dor. It was even the exact same plane I flew in on! We walked across the tarmac and found our seats. The flight was ok, and I made it through OR Tambo International pretty quickly, said goodbye to my new friend and set off for my hostel. As I walked out a membe rof staff asked if I'd arranged my transport yet and sent me over to the information desk to call my hostel. The woman refused to call the mobile number I gave her and insisted on looking the hostel up ion the internet and calling the landline. Whichever hostel she managed to call insisted they would not provide a transfer service so in the end I had to call the mobile number I originally had and sorted out my pickup. What a waste of time!
I arrived at the hostel only to be told 'but you room is occupied'. I looked at the man blankly waiting for him to come up with a solution. He eventually agreed to give me an upgrade and put me in a family room. The 'upgrade' means I have four beds to choose from, a shower curtain that actually seperates the shower from the rest of the bathroom and a kettle. I'm not hugely impressed! I miss my beautiful hotel in Zimbabwe... I don't want to go back to budget accomodation and poky, dingy little hostel rooms! 😞

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb