Sorry it has been so long


Advertisement
Zimbabwe's flag
Africa » Zimbabwe » Harare
June 17th 2005
Published: September 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone,
I am sorry I have gone so long without blogging, but when I was in Addis I had no time, but now that I have gotten to Harare, there are difficulties with the internet. I have written some blogs that I will post when I have better internet access from my last fews days in Ethiopia, but quickly I will give you a overview of Harare.
( I don't want to lose my connection)

Already, we have noticed the political situation here. We have a arranged state visit and everything is very scripted. We are supposed to travel to a rural hospital, but there is a fuel shortage, so we don't know if we will be able to go. The internet is spotty at best and today I finally found a computer that connected.

I went to UNICEF and the crown jewel hospital in the country. I found everyone very polite, but uneasy about answering direct questions. We are treated like royality because they want us to have a good impression of their medical services. I will say that the hospital was wonderful compared to the conditions we were in Ethiopia and the technology is more advanced. But HIV is still killing 10-14% of it's population.

The exhange rate is 9922.00 to 1 US and the unoffical rate is 18,000 to 1.. So things cost like 250,000.. like a hamburger today was 130,000. The hotels of course only take US dollars because you can get black market rate and the Zim Dollar is not worth as much.

The tourist industry is dead here so, the econmy is dying too. The airport was new and modern but almost a ghost town. Don't worry we are very welcome and taken care of. UNICEF which is United Nations is our host and things really work well for them. I am kind of a celebrity. 😊 I have to stop here, my time on the computer is running out. I can't send pictures I am afraid it would take days to download one. I will catch up later with the last diary for Ethiopia later... which will include my visit to a orphange and another city called Nazet.

Just a side note you can't imagine how uplifting your comments and support have been. I had no idea that I would be followed so closely. It has made me feel connected to everyone. I have no way of knowing how many are following me, but everyday I get comments from surprise people. Chief... give me a hint as to who you are??? Thank you for all the kind words and praise. I am just here for a moment, praise the ones that do this everyday. I can go home to my western life but they stay and fight everyday. So not only pray for me, but pray for those who can't leaven and choose to stay. They are whom we all should look up too!
(Pray for a better internet connection so I can send the beautiful pictures I have taken! ! 😊)


Advertisement



17th June 2005

So good to hear from you
That was a long stint not hearing from you. Can't wait to get the pictures and more entries, but understand the issue of internet connection. My friend, Tessy (remember her and Vince?) tried for weeks to contact her family in Kenya and Tanzania to let them know she was pregnant with twins! The internet is quite unreliable and phone service too in some areas. Well, glad to hear all is well and we continue to track your travels in green dry erase marker on our map. When you get back, I would love to hear ideas about what we can do here in America that is most helpful and effective for the people of Africa. Much love, Valarie, Stewart and Garrett
17th June 2005

Friday, June 17th.
Hi Kim, I talked to a mutural friend of Adora Iris Lee, who I wanted you to see if you could contact her when you got to South Africa. I found out she is on leave and is here until sometime in July. She is doing travelling around in the U.S. and visiting family while she is state side. Maybe there might be some other opportunity for you both to meet in the future since you both are working in the same field. Take care, Aunt Marsha
17th June 2005

wwwoooow
i finally got to get on the internet and read all your entries and am completely blown away. I keep reminding myself that i'm not reading about some character in a book but of someone i know on an adventure of a life time. thank you so much for sharing this with all of us. i can only imagine how emotional it is seeing first hand all the suffering. But thank God for people like you Kimbee. I know you keep downplaying what you're doing, but all life ever asks of us is to do our best and do what we can. I say you're living your life out loud and i'm proud to know you. keep safe. love, stacy ps i just looked over at my box of pens and had a whole new appreciation...
17th June 2005

Echo
Hi, I echo Val's wish to do something to effect some kind of change in Africa. I sent you a private message too about this. Since I saw Oprah the other day, it has been haunting me. I put it to you privately because the subject matter is too horrible and graphic to talk about on a public forum. Maybe I just shouldn't be watching Oprah when I am soooo pregnant.... It was great though to sit down this afternoon and see another entry. I am looking so forward to reading them. If you run into Bono, tell him I love him. Love, KJ
17th June 2005

We miss yout!!
Hello, Kim! It's the third Friday of the month and we're all together eating, drinking, and wondering how you are. We've been keeping up with your journal and are blown away by your experiences. We laughed, we cried, we signed you up for the July meeting! Out of Africa?? We can't quite decide on the genre, though. You missed a fabulous Southern dinner tonight - Janet outdid herself with fried chicken, mashed potatoes with milk gravy, and homemade bread pudding. Yum! We just want you to know how proud we are of you, love you, and want you to stay safe. See you soon! The O Club Girls

Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.2124s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb