Heaven in Africa!


Advertisement
Zimbabwe's flag
Africa » Zimbabwe » Gweru
July 19th 2009
Published: August 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

From Harare we went to Gweru , again another small town that was clean and no one bothered you. They had this great pizza place called Pizza Inn, which is located all over Zimbabwe, yum! It is one of my favorite pizza places now! I had to shop for cook shop again, it was my groups turn to cook. This was a challenging experience because Zimbabwe is still trying to recover for it down turn for the last 30 years and stores do not have the freshest products. We made due, it wasn't my turn to decide what cook anyway, I was just there for back-up support.

From Gweru we went to Antelope Park, 6km from the city. This is the greatest place on Earth! I loved it so much there. I could go on forever about this place but I will try to keep it short.

The campsite is located next to a river that has been dammed, there are dorms there, river tents, houses, or you can just camp. As we drove up there were drummers singing, they gave a hot cloth to freshen up along with a refreshing beverage. They then gave us a tour of the grounds and showed a video of what activities we could do. I chose the Lion Package with a night stalk.

Wow, just to begin with the first day. The morning started with a lion walk. There were 5 of us who walked around the open bush with three six month old lions, two boys and one girl. They were so playful, by the end of the walk they slowed down and we were able to take pictures with them. As we were returning to the cage, the little female did not want to go inside, she sat down behind a tree and with some persuasion she walked a little ways and laid down to pick at her paw. Eventually, the handlers had to pick her up and put her in the cage. From there I learned about the breeding program, saw a cub feeding (which is not s sweeet experience), I had a horse riding lesson (I was told I was a natural)< went for an elepant ride, and to finish the day off I went for another lion walk this time with cubs that were 10 months old. These were teh same subs that earlier in the day I saw tear aprart huge chunks of meat. They were so lazy we barely walked at all, but we got loads of great photos.

The second day, I went for a hourse ride and we saw wild game. I loved this so much, I had no idea that I would ever like riding horses that much. At one point we came across a herd of zebra that we were able to try to take picuteres with. There was one person in our group that just kept chasng after them and they kept running away from us. Needless to say, no pictures were taken.

In the afternoon, we went for a lion feeding. This is done in the smae way as the cub feeding. The lions are taken into a holding area while a bunch of animal meat is assembled to look like a dead carcass about 2 feet from a fence. We, the viewers, are all lined up right behind the carcass and then the lions are released. Imagine a pack of grown lions running full spead at you. Thank heavens for teh the fence. They all hit the meat at about the same time, some of them take their peice and run off to enjoy but ther always seem to be 2 that would fight over the same piece. When we watched the adult males feed they all took a part but left the head behind, it was weird to just see a cow head laying on the ground. Once I can post a video you will this too.

In the evening time, a group of us went for a lion stalk. This is where we the viewers site in the back of an open truck and drive through the bush with adult lions while they are hunting. I was so excited for this because only 10% of the world gets to see a lion kill a prey. To save time, the lions didn't get anything. I was happy about this in a way because I really didn't want to see anything die, but sad because I was on a lion stalk. The tour leader said that it was one of the most boring lion stalks that he had been on, so he offered a second lion stalk for free the next night. We didn't see anything die then either.

The great part was the drive out in the bush is beautiful. You can see the Milky Way there. I can't tell you how small it really makes me feel to see something so magnificent.

The last day in Antelope Park, we went to an elephant training. The camp has four adult elephants. The oldest one, Amai (means "mother"), is 22 years old and she was the one I rode. The youngest one was a 19 year old male. He was so playful and all he really wanted was his ball and food. we were all given the opportunity to get them to lift their trunks and feed them. Then sit on them as they stood up. It was a very playful hour, my cheeks hurt from smiling so much.

After that, I went on another horse ride, because I love it! In the afternoon, I was able to go back and hang out with the small cubs again.

Everyone should check out Antelope Park's website, I am sure they have one. If you are ever planning on coming to Africa, this is a must do!

We left Antelope Park on July 23rd. I was very sad to go. I wish I had another month there. We went to the Zim ruins which I opted not to go inside because of the cost. Instead, me and another camper, Slyvia, decided to stay behind to drink wine, dress up in our costumes and make dinner. I was wearing the kangaroo costume that I had bought in Muzuzu. After a few bottles, Sylvai and I had succeeded in making a great soup with homemade dumplings (my addition) and we were having a great time. Then, a tour bus full of kids camp driving by. I hopped in front of the bus, all the kids took pictures and then i charged the bus. All the kids ran to the other side screaming, it was very funny. Sad to say, it didn't end as the best night for either me or Sylvia. All I have to say is Jen is a great friend! And I'm now associated as being a drunk kangaroo.

July 24th, we went to Bulawayo and stayed at Backpackers Paradise. It is the campsite/hostel that is actually this couple's house. Boy, this place was paradise! We upgraded from our ten to a dorm because it was still very cold. I keep having nto remind myslef that it is winter here. Not a winter like I thought it would be, it is a winter like it is at home minus the snow and rain. It is just bone cold late at night. Anyway, our dorm room was right off the main living room and kitchen. Jen and I didn't have to leave the housing area for anything!

The following day, while most people went for a walk to look for rhinos (which they never found), Jen and I ordered pizza for delivery, watched VHS movies that you could barely see because the tape was so old and bad, and just lounged around inside our sleepingbags. It was a lazy day just like we would have had at home.



Advertisement



3rd August 2009

love it
Leah the drunk kangaroo! I love it, you've made me laugh so much from your blogs. I just love them, miss you.

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb