The start of Zimbabwe


Advertisement
Zimbabwe's flag
Africa » Zimbabwe » Harare
July 17th 2009
Published: August 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Harare is the capital of Zimbabwe. The Oasis comapy has a house close to the there for all of the crew when thy are not on duty. The first place that we stopped was a garage to get some truck parts. We used teh bathroom at this place and to my suprise, it was one of the nicest bathrooms that I ahve seen thus far. Who would have believed a bunch of mechanics could keep a nice toilet. We then went shopping at this miniature warehouse, the items sold were all in bulk, it was like a mini Costco. We bought a ton of cheap wine, about $3 a bottle.

The campstie that we stayed at was about 20km outside of Harare. It's called the Larvon Bird Gardens, and is located right on Lake Chivero. It was so beutiful there. They had lions, zebras and pigs. We were the first truck that they had seen in a long time and it was cute to see them try to get organized for us, especially since they thought that we were coming a week later. There were free dorms for us to use if we wanted but Jen and I thought that we wanted to camp. We set up our tents close to the water, but not too close because of a 2 meter crocodile in the lake that was known to kill humans. As the sun started to set it got really cold. Te later it got the colder it got. At one point I had all my clothes on. Jen came up to me and let me know tat she was greezing, thank god, and we decided that it was best to sleep inside! This was the first night that we slept apart. When I saw her the next day I ran up to her to give her a big hug!

The city of Harare was just like a city in the southern part of America. Business professional, clean steets, no on hassling you. We found a little cafe where I enjoyed 2 cups of great coffee served with warmed milk, a clice of chocolate cake that the lady made herself, and a lovely beef pastry made from scratch. It was the best lunch.

We arrived back at the campsite in the early afternoon, where I stated to pr-funk for our fancy dress party. this was the night that we were all going to wear our costumes that we bought in Mzuzu. I ended up doing a lot of peoples make up. We all went to see the lions get fed dressed up in out costumes. I was dressed like a Flintstone character. The night was a lot of fun. The campsite provided a bbq that was great. The highlight of the night was one of the locals brought over her 10 da old lion cub named Joe. He was so soft and so sweet. He had no teeth but really sharp claws. I ended up holding him for close to an hour while everyonje else continued with there fun.

The next day when I woke up, I was so sad to leave this place. It was so peaceful and laid back. The lake still had a mist above it, there were people fishing, birds flying and their two zebras were taking a break under a tree. Little did I know that Zimbabwe only gets better!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 12; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb