Freezin' in Zambia?!


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Lusaka
July 1st 2009
Published: July 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

So it's been too long. If you want to know how the past week was, check out the OLP blog on the site. Let me sum up that week by simply saying that I am in love with the Copperbelt. It is just nice to step away from the city craziness as well as the smells. Just know that I tried African bologna and caterpillars - neither of which will be revisited.

Monday we came back to Lusaka, leaving the Copperbelt forever (or until Sandy asks again ;-)). Of course I teared up a little saying goodbye to the guys, especially Bros. Joseph and Rogers, but having a big group around keeps the tears from really flowing. The drive down wasn't too bad, thanks to word games and portable speakers!

Yesterday we went to Bauleni School for Streetkids. I had gone there last year, but I guess it just didn't sink in just how amazing the school is. They are so close to self-sustaining it's sick. They have their own garden, farm animals, sewing room for things like bed linens, it's amazing. We were evidently supposed to plant beans that day, but it was too cold. That's right, "too cold" to plant. Who would have ever thought that was possible in an African nation? Most of us actually kept our sweathirts on through most of the day. Then in the afternoon we just kind of chilled out. I was finally able to catch up in my own journal as well as enjoy the sunshine on the lawn.

Oh, just to let you all know. Pranks have finally broken out among the group. I'm not surprised that it's happening, just that it took about two weeks to finally start. Today was probably the best, with chickens in Artie and Stephen's rooms.

Tomorrow brings Livingstone. I don't know what internet will be like down there, but I hope to publish often. I can't believe I will actually be home a week from today - too soon!! Love and miss you all!!

Advertisement



1st July 2009

HI!!
Meghan, I was so excited to get your post today! Lots has been going on at home and I cannot WAIT to tell you all about it when you come home next week! I miss you so much! I am so happy to hear you are having a wonderful trip, your blogs make it sound even better than last year's experience?! Good for you!! :) I can't believe it is cold there, but then again, its only 75 degrees here today and for July 1st, that is definitely RARE! Well... I miss you and I can't wait to see you really soon!!!! Have a fabulous last week and post often!! LOve you!! Abbey

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb