The Group Made It, Time to Work


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Lusaka
June 18th 2009
Published: June 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bonaventure TourBonaventure TourBonaventure Tour

Fr. John starts the tour of St. Bonaventure College
I've now moved back to St. Bonaventure College, but with a few more visitors in tow. The group from Colorado that I have been waiting for has finally made it (look for them under the name "OLP" on here)! They got in two nights ago with about 40 boxes worth of donated items. No joke, the only personal items they brought came in their carry-on bags. I mean, wow, dedication.

Yesterday they got their first views of Africa in the daylight. They were taken around the college by Fr. John, who helped us out the night they came in through this morning. After the tour and lunch, they were able to give their first set of donated items to a local clinic that is opening in August through the work of the Sisters of St. Francis. Then they went to a school the sisters run, not far from there.

Then today, they spent the whole day at Hidden Voice, which is a school for children in the local compund with special needs. The school only opened recently and is currently getting about 9 to 12 students daily. The group did wonders! We knocked out a wall to create a
Continuing the TourContinuing the TourContinuing the Tour

Fr. John explaining the Franciscan Tao in the floor design
doorway, painted rooms, widened an existing doorway, created two ramps, and probably plenty more that I can't even think of at this point. Sr. Maura was rather impressed at just how much was accomplished in a such a relatively short time. Actually, I think we were all impressed.

It's been fun having other people here around who are experiencing all of this the first time. I think they have all managed more bemba in the past two days than I have in both of my trips here. It is just a kick to hear their excitement (youth and adults) over things I have already taken advantage of - just some of the sights and whatnot. I think having them here will help me possibly pay attention more to just what I am surrounded by.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Assissi HouseAssissi House
Assissi House

This is the altar at their retreat house a little ways away from the main campuses
Dropping Off DonationsDropping Off Donations
Dropping Off Donations

Our first drop-off to the Sisters of St Francis' new clinic in Makeni
St. Francis Church?St. Francis Church?
St. Francis Church?

I don't remember the name of the church, but it was next to St. Francis School in Makeni
Before ShotsBefore Shots
Before Shots

This door at Hidden Voice was to be widened by the group - and was, I just never got "after" pictures
More Before ShotsMore Before Shots
More Before Shots

This wall needed to be filled, sanded, and painted This is Sr. Maura who's in charge of Hidden Voice School
Final Before ShotFinal Before Shot
Final Before Shot

This tub was eventually removed along with a decent chunk of the wall on the right of the photo - nice job Zambia 14!
Hidden Voice PupilsHidden Voice Pupils
Hidden Voice Pupils

This is almost all of the students that attend Hidden Voice, all of whom live in the Garden Compound where the school is located


18th June 2009

WOW! :)
Meghan, I am SO glad to hear everyone has arrived and that things are going so well! I am so proud of you. I know this has been more of a challenge than you expected, but as always, you have risen to that challenge. They are lucky to have someone as wonderful as you to be their leader. I think of you everyday and I keep your kiddos in my prayers. :) I can't wait to see you when you make it back! I leave for Florida tomorrow, so this will most likely be the last message you will receive until a week from Saturday (the 27th). No worries though, I will think of you while I am on the beach! :) Keep up the hard work! I am behind you all the way (and so is Aubrey but her internet has not been hooked up yet at her new house... so she has been staying updated through me!) We love you and we can't wait to see you really soon! Be safe!! Abbey

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb