Falling further behind


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Lusaka
July 3rd 2008
Published: July 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ubuntu officeUbuntu officeUbuntu office

Much more attractive than plain, gray concrete.
Well, I managed to update two days' worth of activity last time I got at a computer ... and now, five days later, I'm finally getting a chance to update more. I'll have to start typing things out on the Bwafwano laptop at night, and uploading whenever possible. These new internet cafe hours (closing at 6) are definitely not cutting it right now.

So, as you all may have suspected by now, I've been a little busy the last couple weeks. I'll get the end of last week done now, and hopefully get this entire week done tonight. Sadly, since my days all tend to kind of run together, I'm starting to forget what happened a week ago.

Thursday I went out to Chikumbi. We thankfully had our full supply again, so I was able to give the two week amount to get us back on schedule. Overall, though, it was kind of a light day there, and delightfully snake-free. That afternoon, I joined up with our full group at Ubuntu to hash out some plans for work we can do with them, including ideas for grant proposals, reporting methods, and to clear up some confusion with some of their sponsors. It was nice to see that the Ubuntu office is getting spruced up a little bit, although they still lack much in the way of office furniture and supplies. They had a client paint the outside of their building, so now at least you can find it along the street.

Thursday night was great, since we got to head over to Victor and Helen's house for dinner. Helen cooked up a wonderful meal, and we all enjoyed Alinani as he stumbled his way all over the house. Victor only joined us late, having been called to pick up somebody at the airport. He seems like he's been burning the candle at both ends lately, trying to balance work, classes, and trying to see his family occasionally as well.

Friday ... I can't for the life of me think of what I was doing Friday morning, but I know that in the afternoon we went out to Loveness's farm north of the city to get ideas for garden projects for the home-based-care workers. We got a nice tour of the area, and afterwards Loveness treated us with some of her butternut squash and watermelon, both of which were fantastic.

I'll have to stop there, because I've been here for a couple hours taking care of various things. Computer usage is costing me a fortune!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0907s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb