On Not Having Been Attacked By Hippos (or my time in Delta and since)


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Livingstone
July 19th 2008
Published: July 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We have just arrived at our hotel in Livingstone and I thought it was time to give you a run down of what I've been up to.

July 14 - We crosses the border into Botswana. There was a noticable difference between there and Namibia. It seemed more like what I expected of Africa. Our main activity of the day was preparing for our tour into the delta.

July 15-16. We woke up in Maun to no electricity (again!) and went to the poling station to pick up our mokoros (the boats we were taking into the delta.) It was very relaxing to float through the delta, until we encountered a hippo. It was pretty far away, but you should have seen my face when it first made noise. Hippos = not good. Our campsite was nice, albeit rustic. I earned the distinction of making the first major error, when I dumped the newly opened toilet roll into the toilet hole. Way to go, me. We spent most of our time in the delta on game walks and boating, where we saw more hippos, elephants and other animals. And of course we went swimming a couple of times.

July 17 We finally emerged from the delta and headed off to our accommodation in mud huts. It was actually much nicer than I thought it would be. Again, there was a swimming pool, so the "swim club" (the three of us who usually swim) took advantage. Good times.

July 18- Chobe National Park. We drove to Chobe just in time to take a sunset cruise. And boy was it worth it. We saw TONS of elephants (as well as hippos - BOO. But cool nonetheless). The highlight was when a couple dozen elephants decided to swim across the river not 50 m in front of us. It was one of the coolest things I've ever seen.

July 19 - Today we crossed the border into Zambia. That was quite the ordeal. We first had to board a ferry, which really had no queue or any sense of order. And then we had to get all of our passports and visas sorted. To be honest, I could have presented a Malaysian passport with a picture of George W Bush inside and the guy would have stamped it, as long as he got the money. It was an intersting experience nonetheless. after our border crossing, we booked our activities for tomorrow (RAFTING!) and then saw victoria falls. It was amazing.

Again, I feel as though I am being extremely brief. Once the tour is over (in two days - sad!) I will be able to provide more in-depth updates.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Advertisement



23rd July 2008

wait a minute. You went swimming in the delta where the hippos live but you were nervous being in the boat? I would be way more paranoid with the swimming, but that is just me :) Glad you are having fun!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb