Riding the Mighty Zambezi


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Livingstone
December 3rd 2006
Published: December 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hell on the water!!

I'm sure you know that I'm not one for extreme adventure. So why on earth would I jump in a boat and ride the "best rapids in the world" today along with 6 other "TV and bottle of wine" type of girls!?!

We rode 23 really crazy rapids over the course of 6 painful hours which were graded from 1-5 (The scale only actually goes up to a 6!) I CANNOT EXPLAIN HOW SCARED I WAS!!

...The boat capsized 4 times and we ended up hit by our paddles, bumped against rocks, trapped under the boat, and my personal best - pulled through the "washing machine" eddy current on number 13 -"THE MOTHER" after being tipped out for the third time and deperately gulping for breath for a good minute until the little resue boat fetched me back on!!

I cannot advise anyone to try this "sport"! (although dad, you probably would have quite enjoyed it!)

Best part is that I have a DVD of the whole damn thing so I can re-live the nightmare again and again.

Having said that the Zambezi is a beautiful river with huge gorges -
Yes, we really did look like this!Yes, we really did look like this!Yes, we really did look like this!

This is a pic of the net cos my underwater camera hasn't been developed yet. can all laugh at the actual pictures later!!
Zambia on one side and Zimbabwe on the other.
Riding an elephant tomorrow at 6:15am!!- Now that sounds more relaxing!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb