A change of work


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Eastern Province » Katete
August 13th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have just moved offices this week, as I am now acting as secretary/ assistant to the hospital director & resident doctor. It is certainly very busy! (I'm writing this inbetween typing several letters that need to be sent today) I am now based in the centre of the hospital, right by the clinics, rather than out on the edge by the mortuary as I was previously. As I write I can hear children crying, and earlier I think at least one person just died as there was a good deal of wailing. I don't know if I mentioned it before, but the African way of mourning the dead sounds very eerie. As soon as someone passes, the relatives began a high pitched wail, almost like singing, but not as lovely! This will go on for some time, usually until it is time for the body to be removed from the mortuary, when the singing does begin. I have gradually got used to it, especially with such a high death rate here, but for some reason I noticed it more this morning.
To add to my new job, I also continue looking after the visitor accomodation & mess, which is the usual juggling act of trying to find accomodation for everyone from the limited supply of houses, and keeping the mess staff to cook what they are supposed to when there is a lack of:
a.) power
b. supplies of food
c.) equipment
and sometimes a combination of all three. Still, it makes the days go faster. I have now enough days left on my visa until I'm due to go home, so now I don't have to visit the immigration office again. That is a cause for celebration in itself!
I also braved the local Katete nightclub last saturday, with a group. That was actually great fun, I enjoyed it much more that when I was last there. I think maybe because we more of a mixed group (ie Zambians & mzungus) so the regulars there weren't so aggressive as they were last time. I was actually able to dance without constantly having someone's crotch rubbed up against me! Also, we travelled up there in the local way, in the back of an open top truck, after our taxi let us down. Got some great photos of the occasion that will go on facebook soon...including one of the top of my head with my hair blowing all over the place!
Till next week...take care.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb